Growing Up

The past couple of years have brought a great deal of God’s blessing and also a large amount of pressure and trial for Scott, me, and our little family.  Although I can’t think of anything that I would want to go back and change, there is also very little that I would choose to go back and live through again.  I am finally beginning to accept that life never actually gets easier.  Even those who seem like they have the easy life are still struggling through just like everyone else.

We can sit and languish in the misery and unfairness of our difficult life, but that’s not very productive and definitely won’t make things any easier.  This I know from experience. *grin* Or, we can choose to put on our big girl pants, take God’s hand, and shoulder our way into the storms of the day-to-day grown-up spiritual life.

I’ve been trying to think of how to relate all of this to parenting and literally growing up from childhood.  There are a lot of lessons and connections that can be made there.  As we grow up spiritually, God does expect more of us.  He does require us to take on more responsibility and to learn from our experiences rather than beginning each new day or trial back at square one with Him.  But there is also a difference, and it’s a big one.  Good parenting requires that we allow, teach, and encourage our children to become increasingly independent from us.  To learn new things so that they will one day walk on their own.  That is not God’s goal with us. Yes, we are joint heirs in the kingdom of God.  We are children of God.  But He calls us the Bride of Christ.  Not the child of Christ.      

When Scott and I participated in the Marriage Course several years ago, I remember my perspective of marriage changing when Nikky and Sila Lee spoke about the goal of different types of relationships and how marriage is the only one where individuals should be continually growing more dependent upon each other rather than more independent of each other.  Marriage is the better example of how we are supposed to grow in our spirituality and faith.

So, although I often catch myself longing for some indefinite point in the future when life will surely be easier and Scott and I will finally be able to live without this constant stretching and struggling, I’m learning to appreciate that the hardships are what I should truly be rejoicing in because they allow me to grow more and more dependent upon God.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Christianity, faith, Marriage. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Growing Up

  1. Dad & Mom says:

    Well said -

Leave a Reply

