An itch for Pride & Prejudice

As an introduction to the blogging world, I will begin with a rambling about my favorite movie and book of all time…Pride and Prejudice.  I was first introduced into the world of Jane Austin’s Pride & Prejudice 11 years ago (can it really be?) while I was in Japan.  A friend of mine was actually minoring in Jane Austin studies and she owned a copy of the BBC version of P&P.  Well, needless to say, she talked me into watching the first hour of the show with the promise that if I didn’t care for it, we would stop there.  Yeah… so five hours later, I was emotionally attached to all of the characters in the story and wanted more.  I then borrowed the book from my friend and proceeded to plow through the entire thing – and I have been hooked ever since. 

When the new version of P&P was released some time back, I must admit that I resisted viewing it do to my intense loyalty to the BBC version.  However, when a friend invited me to watch the newer version with her, I agreed and gave my best attempt at open-mindedness.  Sadly, when I had finished watching this version, I was left with an intense “itch” for “the real thing”…leading me to watch the entire BBC version over the next three nights.  But, alas, that did not relieve the itch, so I am now once again plowing my way through the entire printed version.  Ahh, to be curled up in bed with a cup of hot tea and Jane Austin.  Now THAT is a soothing balm !  🙂

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to An itch for Pride & Prejudice

  1. your story IS mine… i had a friend rope me into watching and we started around 10:00 at night 3 hours later i HAD to finish the entire series.
    we pushed through ’til the end. 2:00 am.
    thus the beginning of my Jane Austen obsession.
    i have all books. have read/listened to more than one (librivox.com = excellent readings!), and am collecting all movie remakes.
    drew and i started P&P (BBC’s) last night.
    ahhhh…. soothing balm indeed!
    🙂

  2. mypeaceandjoy says:

    We will have to have a P&P night/weekend one of these times!

  3. Mom says:

    Oh dear – now I’ve got the “itch” again! I’m going to dig out my BBC version & get my cup of tea! I love giggling at the dramatics of Elizabeth’s mother, the wonderful innuendo in the conversations (which took me 2 or 3 viewings to catch all of), and the scene of Elizabeth’s final encounter with Lady Catherine always leaves me cheering! It is a wonderful story that always reminds me to be careful of “first impressions”! – And always doubly enjoyed in a mother-daughter movie night!

  4. Traci says:

    Now I’m longing for a cool, rainy Saturday morning in fall to turn on P&P and curl up on the couch with a cup of hot chocolate and my cross-stitch.

  5. mypeaceandjoy says:

    Oh, yes. The mother is one of my favorite characters. She is so masterful at being annoying! And I love how the book brings out more of Darcy’s inner struggle — which by nature, a movie is not able to do as well. Your comments have brought several smiles to my face!

  6. Steph says:

    Hey,
    If you guys watch P&P let me know. I love watching it, but it is always so much fun to giggle along with other grown girls, at Jane Austin’s characters.
    By the way, your blog looks great!

  7. Mama D says:

    Hey….I missed the entire ‘roping’ deal! How did that happen?

  8. Sarah says:

    I don’t know, Mama D, but next time you fly out here to see us (soon, right?), I will definitely ‘rope’ you in to watching the whole thing with me!! We’ll take the hide-a-bed and let the guys fend for themselves. 🙂 So glad to see you on my blog!

  9. Mama D says:

    hey, this end is easy!!! So I’m guessing that Mr. Donis is sharing Gossemer with you some….good boy…next we’ll work on the Dion’s!! Keep it up!

    The ‘other’ Mom

Leave a Reply

