A Perfect Saturday Morning…

Oh, to enjoy a Saturday morning by cuddling with my two adorable children! 

This morning my dear husband, whose summer vacation has finally and officially begun, is enjoying sleeping in.  So I am enjoying  the morning with my two sweet children who love to cuddle.  What better way to spend a morning.  My daughter, I admit, had me worried for a while.  When she was very small, she showed no great inclination towards cuddling.  In fact, quite the opposite was true.  Being very independent in her nature (I have no idea where she picked up that trait!  ;-)), she was quite content to maintain her ‘personal space’ and therefore flailed about and otherwise expressed her dissatisfaction if I attempted to keep her ‘confined’ with cuddling.  However, over time, she has learned the joy of cuddling and now in fact believes that cuddling with Mama in the morning while she wakes up is her exclusive right.

My son, on the other hand, has always been a cuddler.  (Isn’t it amazing how God can create two children from the same parents to be so different!!)  Although he is quickly growing up and requiring less cuddle time from Mama, he still has plenty of moments when he loves to sit beside me with his head resting on my shoulder…or even where he’ll sit in my lap if his little sister will acquiesce. 

So, this morning, since my son is my earlier riser, he claimed my lap first and we enjoyed some quality cuddle time in the living room recliner while Curious George once again found himself in trouble on the tv.  About 45 minutes later, my daughter emerged in her princess nightgown and immediately demanded her rightful place in my lap (not that she’s allowed to demand her brother to move; but he, having already had some cuddle time, was willing to move aside to avoid her grumpy glares).  And that has been my relaxingly wonderful morning. 

What about you…have you had a perfectly relaxing Saturday morning (and what has been involved in that)?

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Just Relaxing, Kids, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Perfect Saturday Morning…

  1. 🙂
    i love your writing style….. how fun.
    my morning has been relaxing – more relaxing than i would’ve liked! i thought Minhee (upstairs) was coming to see me @ 10:30 …. so i woke up early (earlier than i wanted, seeing as how i played late last night… but i won’t blame that on anyone!)
    she hasn’t showed… the timing may have gotten lost in translation. not sure.
    so… i’ve been cleaning/eating/showering/blogging…. and am getting ready to go w/ a few church girlfriends to see a new mama in the church and watch a movie!
    enjoy time with your man whilst he’s on vacation.
    🙂

  2. and i like the layout.
    🙂 good colors!

  3. Steph says:

    This morning we did virtually nothing (just breakfast and playing), which was wonderful! I wish we had the freedom to enjoy one anothers company more often without things needing to happen as soon as we rise.

  4. Mama D says:

    r e l a x i n g ……hmmmmm, I’ll need to get the dictionary and verify the meaning of that one. First week of school, first 2 lunch dutys with kinders…only minor disasters….only 29 computers working in the lab out of 31….taught 4th grade yesterday….included on the A Team (behavior intervention), back up test coordinator, SAT team…I’m not really sure if the new principal likes me or is trying to get me to leave. He’s a hoot! He is starting a PHd program and years ago wanted to do a Church history major…how freaky is that???? Keep his son in prayer…he’s 13, in hosp with possible brain absess. Will update you! This is easier than I thought it would be! Mama D

  5. Tam says:

    Hi! I got here by way of Mandy’s shout out this morning..Glad she linked you! I got all relaxed just reading about you Saturday morning!

    And i echo your Monday prayer for myself today too! Thank you!

    Blessings on your day!

Leave a Reply

