Hats, Hats and More Hats

I was sitting on my son’s bed last evening waiting for him and his little sister to finish brushing their teeth before bed.  As I was waiting…ever so patiently (?) waiting…and waiting…I let my eye wander around the room and lingered on the wall above my daughter’s dresser, which is covered with hats.  Bright, beautiful, flowery hats.  Three of the hats were made by my wonderfully talented mother for my daughter’s last birthday (#3).  One is a lavendar straw hat with flowers and ribbons all around the brim — there’s even a miniature bird on it.  Another is a white western rodeo-queen style hat with flowing white ribbon and a silver sparkly buckle in the back.  And of course, there’s the pink flapper-esque hat with pink sequins and pink ribbon.  Then there was her first Easter hat (cream colored with pink gauze for ribbon), her pink sunhat (with the big bold flowers), her black velvet hat with the matching purse and her various other everyday hats.  

As I lingered on this wall, I realized, I LOVE HATS! Which, you must understand, is a bold statement for me.  I could quite accurately be described as a lover of blending in.  So hats, which by their nature have to be noticed, are not within my comfort zone.  Sure, I’ve been known to occasionally don a simple cap on a lazy saturday, but that’s not anywhere near the same ball-part as we’re talking here.  It wasn’t until my dear daughter expressed such an affinity for any and every hat available – and looked so undeniably adorable in them — that I acknowledged my love of them.  Maybe my love of hats was inspired by my daughter, or maybe she inherited this love from my repressed genetics…who knows…the important thing is that the love is there and it needs to be set loose. 

Therefore, I am resolved to begin wearing hats.  Yes, I realize we have established that hats are outside my comfort zone….way outside.  I love looking at them, but wearing them in public is a whole other story.  Still, I am resolved.  So my goal is to take baby steps.  And maybe by the time my daughter graduates from college, or gets married, I’ll be comfortable enough to wear a big, flowery, LOOK-AT-ME-I’M-THE-MOTHER-OF-THE-BRIDE style hat.  Who knows.  With God, anything is possible, right? 

If you have a little girl who also loves hats, check out this book:  Miss Fannie’s Hat, by Jan Karon.   And for even more fun, check out my favorite “hat” website.

And if you share Abby and my love of hats, do tell.  Because a love like this has to be shared! 🙂

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hats, Hats and More Hats

  1. Scott says:

    I think that this is a fantastic step! you think will look fantastic and elegant in your new hats. I think that there are few things that make a woman look more elegant than a fancy hat! Let the hat revolution begin!!
    ~Scott

  2. 🙂
    does baseball caps and winter caps count as a love for hats? i’m actually excited about the cold coming so i can whip out my fun new collection!

Leave a Reply

