My Heart is Bursting With Joy…

Over the last couple of years — really since my son was able to make himself understood to people other than my husband and I — I have become painfully aware of my responsibility as a parent and the ability of my choices and actions to influence another human being.  In other words, God has been refining me…painfully. 

Usually, I realize my influence when I hear something emerge from my son’s mouth that I would rather he had not learned from me.  Now don’t get me wrong, I know that overall, I am a good mom.  My kids love me, I love them, and they are sweet and well-behaved children.  It just seems that it’s usually my slip-ups that coming popping back out of their mouths. 

The other night, however, I received an unexpected blessing from God through a moment that reminded me of the positive influence I have on my son. 

Earlier in the day, my son had approached me during a busy time and told me that when he said his prayers that evening, he wanted to pray a scripture verse.  I was proud of him, but busy.  And the moment quickly passed.  However, as I was sitting down on his bed that night to hold his hands in prayer, he reminded me that he wanted to pray a scripture.  Brothers and Sisters in Christ, I was able to look up several verses with my son and guide him in choosing one.  What a rush!  I almost can’t find a way to express it.  He chose Joshua 1:9 — as that one has played a key role in his life recently. 

I have to confess to you that praying scripture has not always been a part of my life.  In fact, it has only been within the past few months that I have ever intentionally prayed scripture.  But, it has become a burning desire within me recently and I was so overjoyed to see…(I’m becoming emotional as I write)…to see my blundered but heartfelt effort received by my Lord God Almighty and showered back down upon me in such a marvelous moment of everyday life. Oh, friends.  I wish I could convey to you my heart right now.  But I can’t even come close.

Praise God.  PRAISE GOD.  May it continue so!  May my flounderings and failings as a parent be overcome by God’s MAGNIFYING my efforts into victories.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Kids, Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Heart is Bursting With Joy…

  1. Mama D says:

    That’s our Jonah…always touching your heart!!! How blessed he is to have you two as parents! ds

Leave a Reply

