He’s Off and Pedalling…

My son has officially graduated.  No, not from school.  Come on, he’s only six… No, he has graduated into riding his bike with NO TRAINING WHEELS!  He’s been ready for this moment for quite some time, but, quite frankly, life has conspired against him. 

This Spring, he graduated from his way-outgrown bike to a “big kid bike”, which admittedly is still a little tall for him (he has to stand on tiptoes to swing his leg over the bike.)  So, my sweetie and I decided to keep the training wheels on for awhile–even though he was already Speedy McGee on his bike. 

Then, after he had a few weeks to adjust to a larger bike, life zoomed forward at full speed.  My sweetie was trying to stay afloat in his seminary classes while working 15-30 hours a week and having a seriously injured right wrist (yes, his writing hand).  Meanwhile, I was keeping house, chasing after two kids, homeschooling and working 20+ hours a week (from home).  So, we barely had time to see each other, let alone think about removing training wheels. 

Finally the time seemed ripe.  My sweetie was just finishing up his summer session class, we wouldn’t be starting homeschool for a couple weeks, and the weather was beautiful.  So, of course, Jonah fell…and had a concussion.  Not an overly serious one, but still enough to have his two parents very concerned…and very against all bike riding for at least a week!  Uff-Da!

But alas, all hope was not lost, and after much pestering, the parents consented to not only bike riding in general, but bike riding without training wheels.  And I must say, all bias aside, my son is a natural!  🙂  After only 5-10 minutes of my sweetie holding on to the back of the bike, Jonah took off.  Success! 

I would post pictures of him, but I’m uncomfortable posting pics of my kids on the internet…so you’ll just have to believe me when I tell you that he was/and is amazing!

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Just Relaxing, Kids, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to He’s Off and Pedalling…

  1. Mom says:

    Hooray for Jonah! Another step in growing up! Give him a “high-five” from Grandpa and Grandma!

Leave a Reply

