Our First Day of Homeschool…

We have completed our first day of school for the 2007-2008 school year!!  The kids will still have some silent reading time this afternoon while I am working, but the major part of the school day is over.  And, it was a success!

I was concerned, knowing myself the way that I do, that I might oversleep or just be generally stressed out about the first day.   I have found again and again that no matter how hard I try, I am not able to wake up early enough to avoid a hectic day.  However, I have also found that when I specifically petition God to awaken me in the morning, he always does.  So last night, I prayed that God would awaken me this morning with a freshness to start the day.  And faithfully, when my alarm went off at 5:30 this morning, He did just that!

I was able to start my day with bible study and prayer (always a good start to the day) followed by a short work-out on the elliptical and a shower.  Then I woke up the kids and we all had breakfast with Scott before he left for work.  After breakfast, I cleaned up the kitchen while the kids got dressed and unpacked their backpacks (that they had packed last night in great anticipation of their first day of school).

School began promptly at 8:30 and proceeded smoothly (or at least mostly smoothly) throughout the morning.  It was a relatively easy day with a majority of the work being review, which allowed us to finish up a little earlier than scheduled.  Yeah! 

Abby was so excited to begin preschool today.  I probably wouldn’t have started her on any kind of formal program this year (she is only 3 1/2), but she has been begging to start school  for the last 6 months so that she can be just like her brother Jonah.  So…let the school begin.  She had lots of fun coloring various pictures “red” and learning the first verse of “The Vowel Poem”.  With a brand-new princess backpack and her very own crayons and school books, she feels VERY grown-up!

Jonah enjoyed beginning his new math book and filling in his calendar and weather graph.  He LOVES checking the weather.  He’s starting spelling and grammar this year, which he’s catching on to pretty quickly.  And for history, we learned what “history” and “archaeology” mean, and then he started a family history book.  He had fun asking Mama and Abby where we were born, what our favorite memories were, etc. 

So, besides a short-lived, I-want-to-do-my-book-right-now-fit from Abby, school went very smoothly today.  We appreciate all prayers that have been and continue to be prayed on behalf of our family as we continue homeschooling.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Homeschool, Kids, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Our First Day of Homeschool…

  1. Shelly says:

    So glad it went well 🙂 And girl – 5:30 am work out, Jesus time, prayer, and then breakfast. I commend you MUCH! lol

    And PS – I posted one of our pics from the weekend on the blog. Glad I got to meet you there 🙂

  2. Angie says:

    Hi Sarah!!!

    Thank you SO much for visiting my blog! I am so excited that you left me the sweet comment!!!

    I am SO impressed that you can homeschool your children. I don’t think I could have ever done that. I don’t have the gift! I tried to teach my daughter to ski and after about 5 minutes, I decided to get her lessons!

    About the gun question on your last post. If you remember, my son is 21 years old. He used to make EVERYTHING into a gun. There are just some things boys do… including making noises that neither myself nor my daughter have the ablility to make! Since I’m so wise… NOT… let me just tell you that from my experience I didn’t worry about it too much and he turned out okay. He is not violent. But… if he were to be mean to his sister that was another story and the gun would be history. I feel the more we deny our kids the more they want it! So… if it is unacceptable, he may want it more! I felt that way about a lot of things. I had no patience for lying, and I worry that sometimes parents make their kids lie by not allowing them to experience some things. Plus, if you get him into a lot of other things, he may lose interest in the gun anyway! There are a lot of other toys that are a lot more fun!

    You are making me feel old to even think about this! Haha!

    I am glad you are trying to do the right thing! I admire you! You are a great parent, I can already tell!

    Take care and hope to get to know you better through our blogs! 🙂
    ~Angie xoxo

  3. Mom says:

    So glad your first day of school went so well! May it be the sign of a wonderful year ahead! Hugs and kisses to the students and Kudos to Mom and Dad! But where do you find the time to update this site daily! Hmmmmm – must be a supermom thing! Love –

  4. Mama D says:

    Webster’s Dictionary:
    over-acheiver: see Sarah D.!!!

    5:30am….my gracious girl…I’m doing some of my best sleeping at 5:30! Update the blog, shower, breakfast, exercise, CLEAN THE KITCHEN, oh come on!

    I’m sure Mr. ‘Nah is very excited to be back in school. Glad Abbs is enjoying ‘red’!!! I should send her a copy of Mr. Al sings colors and shapes! Red is a very upbeat song! I’m still looking for something that Jonah doesn’t like!!! I know he will do great (he always does…he’s had great teachers so far!!!!)

    What is Dad teaching? Computers?

  5. Summer says:

    Congrats! I’m glad the first day went well. I’ve always been told once you get through the first day/week you’re fine. 🙂

Leave a Reply

