An Unexpected Southern Twang…

This past weekend, a friend and I took a 28 hour whirlwind trip to Providence for the Living Proof Live conference.  It was, as my friend had warned me it would be, an emotional roller-coaster…and everything I had hoped for.  But that’s not really the point of this story.

My friend is a true southern girl, although she’s able to blend in quite nicely with ‘normal’ New England folk.  However, we met up at the conference with my friend’s fresh-from-the-south, in-the-middle-of-her-move-to-New-England soul sister.  When the two of them got together, the southern twang just rolled right off their tongues, although I didn’t give it much of a conscious thought.   Then, since — obliviously to me — this was a weekend for southern accents, we spent 7 hours (give or take) listening to Beth Moore boom her sweet southern voice across the convention center.

Now understand, I am not a southern girl by birth.  And although I have spent some time in the south, it has rarely been enough to influence my speech.  So, I enjoyed listening to the conversations and didn’t think much more about it…until, I returned home. 

Now don’t ya’ll worry, everything was just fine once I hurried on home.  I received a very enthusiastic greeting from my son while I was still in the process of opening the door and spent the rest of the evening enjoying some slower moments with my kids and hubby. Fun, simple, quiet.

That night, as my sweetie patiently listened to my exuberant stories of Beth’s teaching and the praise team’s worship,  it popped out.  I didn’t mean for it too.  It just happened.  I drawled a word…and then another one.  I realized what I had done but thought maybe it was too slight for my sweetie to notice.

But then it happened again, and he did notice!  A smirk played across my sweetie’s lips and he said with a twinkle in his eye, “I do believe that was a bit of southern twang in your voice.”  I burst into giggles and immediately confessed to him that I had heard it in my voice as well but had thought he might not notice.  Alas, I…I had a southern twang!

Sadly, two days later, I hear no more southern charm in my mid-western accent.  *sigh*  It’s all for the best…I suppose.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to An Unexpected Southern Twang…

  1. Shelly says:

    LOL LOL!!!

    This is hysterical!

    Sadly, if you could imagine it, my accent becomes even more drawn and thicker when I’m with my family. Oh girl – we’d need an interpretor for sure!

    Precious!

  2. Mama D says:

    I find I’m using mine more with a new principal from Texas! He openly uses ‘ya’ll” and ‘gonna’ and ‘fixin tah’!!!! So we compare southern words frequently! Tell your ‘sweetie’ to wipe that smirk off his face….his ‘mama’ said!!!!

    Thanks for making me smile every couple of days…you are better at adding to this every day than I am at making time to get here to check. Love you, as always…..mamaD

  3. Mom says:

    Your story reminds me of our first trip to Alabama to see Dad’s cousins. After the initial greetings, Dad put up the hood to check the engine and Uncle came over and asked him “Has y’r Oh?” ( . . . What? . . .) Then Dad caught on that he meant “How is your oil?”! They are a great Christian family with a wonderful sense of humor, but that first night at the dinner table as they joshed and talked with each other we all sat there completely befuddled! They spoke with such a heavy twang that we could only catch about every 10th word! After a day or so of careful listening, and many “Could you repeat that s-l-o-w-e-r, please?” requests we were able to really get a kick out of our conversations with them. Viva the twang!

  4. Sweetie says:

    I think that your “Southern” accent was very cute, I just may let you spend more time with Mandy and Shelly if that will one of the “Benefits”

  5. Holly says:

    Ain’t nothin’ wrong with a southern twang. It’s like you can say anything and it will sound like it’s been dipped in sugar. Love the blog!

  6. i’m SOOO proud of you!!!!!!!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

