My Garden is Producing…

pict6285.jpgThis spring I planted a garden for the first time!  I used to help my mom with her garden when I was growing up, but seeing as she has an incredible green thumb, that doesn’t really count.   This was my own garden venture…with my own attempts at growing vegetables and flowers. 

Needless to say, I was thrilled when shoots started sprouting up out of the ground.  Success!!  Even if none of the plants had ever bloomed, I would have been pleased that I at least didn’t kill everything off.  It’s not that I think I’m bad at gardening, it was just intimidating to plant my own seeds for the first time.

Plus, it’s a community garden area.  There are approximately 15 garden plots all together at the seminary where we are currently living.  So, not only am I gardening for the first time, but approximately 14 other gardeners — some of whom have been gardening here for 2-3 years — can all see how well (or not) my garden is doing.  INTIMIDATING!! 

So today, I was quite pleased when the kids and I walked down to the garden (about 5 minutes away) and were able to pick green peppers, yellow squash, zucchini (the only one to show up so far this season, but hey, at least there was one) and a variety of flowers! 

pict6289.jpg

Yeah!…Yeah!!  I feel proud.  🙂

Do any of you have good tips for growing gardens?  Or a story of something fun you did that made you feel proud?  Do share!

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Garden is Producing…

  1. Mom says:

    Your efforts at a first garden turned out fantastic! The flowers are lovely and the veggies look delicious! Isn’t it wonderful to work “hand in hand” with the Creator to produce something so satisfying. Thanks for the pics!
    PS: What in the world are “liquid fireworks”?

  2. Sarah says:

    Yes, Mom, it is wonderful to work “hand in hand” with our creator!

    In short, liquid fireworks are a water display, but check back tomorrow for a full post on the subject. 🙂

  3. amazing…….
    drew and i took a walk this weekend & i found your garden plot – it was the one with all the beautiful flowers! its the best one out there.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

