Liquid Fireworks…Homeschool Fieldtrip?…

One of the great joys of having kids is that they motivate us parents to explore the nooks and crannies of the world and to visit places that we probably would not otherwise think to visit.  One such place is a furniture store in Massachusetts.  Of course, I WOULD visit a furniture store even if I didn’t have kids, and now that I do have kids, I would usually prefer to visit the furniture store without them…but this store is an exception…because I don’t go there to look at the furniture!  Now that I have you non-Massachusetts folks thoroughly confused, let me explain.

Jordan’s furniture is a large, obviously profitable furniture store in MA.  However, they go way above and beyond any other furniture store I have ever seen.  In the back of the store is an IMAX theatre that plays new releases and has “butt-kickers” in the seats (they jolt you during dramatic scenes)!!  I know!!!  So, my sweetie and I first took a jaunt over to this furniture store to see a movie together!  Little did we know, that’s not even the main attraction (at least for the 4 foot and under crowd). 

When you walk in the store entrance, you walk into “bean town”, aptly named because everything you see is made out of jelly beans.  The table tops, walkways, flowers, ducks, bridge (that you can actually walk across), etc. are all made out of jelly beans.  Beans are everywhere!  When your gaze is able to move beyond the jelly beans, you will also find a Fuddruckers restaurant, a trapeze area where you can pay to go on the trapeze (!!), Richardson’s ice cream (Yummmmm!!!! And huge amounts of ice cream!!!) and of course, the liquid fireworks (for free!). 

When I first saw the liquid fireworks display, it was right in the middle of a show — which start every half hour and last for about 10 minutes.  This display was the entire width of the room and water fountains were at full blast across the entire stage.  Various colored lights in the bottom of the stage and music all added to the feel of … ‘fireworks’ made out of water.  Plus, the water fountains were obviously set up on timers to flow with the music.  Fountains would increase and decrease, sway the water from side to side, shoot bursts of water into the air…all simultaneously and to the mood of the music.  Mesmerizing is the only word I can come up with to describe this.  If you have ever seen the water show at the Bellagio in Las Vegas (or like me have only ever seen it on tv), this display reminds me of that…except with multi-colored water and lots of fun music in the background.

Obviously, once Scott and I had enjoyed our ice-cream and returned home, we knew that we had to bring our kids back to “the furniture store” because they would FLIP-OUT!  And my, oh my, we were not disappointed!  We had not told them where we were going or why, so Abby was convinced once she entered the door that we were actually there to see the ‘beautiful’ flowers made out of candy!!  She gushed and exclaimed over ALL of them!  It was actually very difficult to convince her to look beyond the beans to the water display!

Once the ‘fireworks’ began (about 5 minutes after we arrived) Abby’s hands clasped her cheeks as she exclaimed several times:  “Mama, it’s SO BEAUTIFUL!”  Jonah was so excited that it was impossible to keep him seated near his ice cream…so we gave up and allowed him to dance with great animation in front of the display.  Both kids were constantly moving — trying to contain a little of their enthusiasm, but failing miserably.  🙂

When it was over, we had to stay for a second show!  Too fun!!  Then, last week while I was meeting with a couple friends for a casual bible study that we do together, Scott took the kids back to the furniture store.  That was when Jonah made the statement that “This is the second best day of my life” (2nd only to the Boston Fireworks Display…the boy loves fireworks!).

Maybe next time, we’ll call this a “science” fieldtrip!!  🙂 

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Homeschool, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Liquid Fireworks…Homeschool Fieldtrip?…

  1. rowdyrodi says:

    I wanna go! Hubby is deployed so maybe the kids and I can take a LONG field trip. We’ve seen all the “History” stuff here in VA so we need a good fun “Science” trip. OOOHHH the kids would LOVE it!

    Do you have to look at furniture too? *grin*

  2. Mom says:

    WOW! What fun! No “furniture” stores like that around here! I know another place to put on the list when we visit again!!! -Love

Leave a Reply

