My World Has Been Shaken By Cheese…

This past weekend, my sweetie and I took our two adorable kids to Vermont for a day-trip.  (It still boggles my mind that we can take a “day-trip” to Vermont, but that’s a whole nother post…)  So, Saturday morning we packed up the kids and headed out to discover the world of cheese at the Cabot Creamery in Cabot, VA…and if you ever have the chance to go, I would definitely recommend it!!

We arrived at the creamery where the kids were immediately impressed by the wooden cows out front with the cut out faces (insert your own for a perfect picture opportunity!).  This was definitely going to be a fun place!!  Then, we went inside and were able to sample cheese while we waited for our tour of the facility to start…even better!!!

When the tour started — which was packed — we were led into a theater style room for a talk and video on the creamery.  My sweetie and I contentedly listened to fun facts about dairies, coops, creameries, and the history of Cabot cheese, which was started in Vermont.  (Go Figure!) 

According to our tour guide, Cabot distributed dairy products only to the New England area for quite some time.  But, as they grew, they began entering contests and branching out further west.  Well, at one of their first “western” competitions, they discovered that people sampling their cheeses, didn’t like the color of their cheese.  It was white…which led our tour guide to explain to us that cheese is naturally white.  Orange cheese is only orange due to the addition of beta carotine which gives it the ‘artifically orange’ color.   OK.  WHAT!!!!  ARE YOU SERIOUS??

Well, now that she mentioned it, that does make perfect sense.  I mean, milk is white after all.  But seriously, being western natives, all ‘good’ cheese my sweetie and I have ever had has been orange.  Cheddar is ALWAYS orange.  But to know now that the orange is an artificial color and not the result of the aging process…I just don’t know how to process this information!

This means *gasp* that “white cheddar cheese nips” are not really the ‘gourmet’ cheese nips.  Ahhhhhhhh…..deep breaths, Sarah…deep breaths.   This also means that while I have been shunning those sickly looking white cheeses that I see occasionally in the store, these have in fact been the more true cheese!  MY WORLD IS UPSIDE DOWN!! 

Have you all been in on this conspiracy????  Did you know about the true color of cheese, or have you been as deceived as I???

Must.Rest…Brain.Hurts…Cheeeeeese…My.Sweet.Orange.Cheeeeeeese……………………………………………………………………………

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Homeschool, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My World Has Been Shaken By Cheese…

  1. Angbaylis says:

    I did not know that either! I only know one thing… I LOVE CHEESE! I was talking to someone about cutting back to try to get in better shape. People think cheese is not good for us. But… I LOVE CHEESE! No matter what color it is!!!

    You are making me hungry!
    Very interesting post!!!!!

    Have a good day!
    Angie xoxo

  2. Steph says:

    I too have been led astray. We have even purchased the white colored cheddar at the store, but I don’t like it. Maybe it is just a mental thing, but I like my orange cheese, beta carotene an all.

Leave a Reply

