They get it from me…

My husband claims that I have an uncanny knack for spoiling surprises.  I’m quite sure I have NO idea what he is talking about.  I honestly don’t try to spoil surprises…we just obviously think too much alike!

It’s never the big things, just little everyday things.  Like when I would be really tired from a long day at work and I would ask my sweetie if he would mind doing the dishes that night so I could sit down and veg.  Upon making this simple request, my dear husband would give me an exasperated sigh as he rolled his eyes stating, “See, you always spoil my surprises!”  What?!  Well, unbeknownst to me, my sweetie had already been planning to do the dishes that night without me having to ask.  awww.  And I went and spoiled it.  (He still did the dishes though).

Or when I was cranky and feeling hormonal and started whining for asking if he would take me out for ice-cream.  Once again, the heavy sigh and the eyes rolling…yes, he had already been sweetly planning that very thing, just for me.

Or the times that he would plan a romantic evening in after the kids were in bed only for me to fall asleep on the couch before he could inform me of his plans.

So, it’s no surprise that our two kids have inherited a mutated form of this gene.  They can sense when mom and dad are planning something special and immediately become ill.  Not deathly ill…just enough to disrupt the plans. 

So it went a few weeks before Christmas.  My sweetie and I had arranged for some friends to watch our kids while we did some Christmas shopping.  Within an hour of our friends arriving, Abby developed a fever and stomach ache. 

And when we arranged with a couple-friend of ours to swap babysitting, we were going to take the first night out …until  BOTH kids developed colds.  Runny noses, coughing, sneezing, and a little vomitting thrown in to seal the deal. 

Yep, our best laid plans are often thwarted.  My sweetie gives a heavy sigh, rolls his eyes, and heads to the medicine cabinet for the children’s tylenol.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Kids, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to They get it from me…

  1. Sweetie says:

    I must say, you sure have married one incredible man there! You are very blessed to have such a thoughtful and loving Husband!

  2. Steph says:

    I hope they are feeling better soon, and we would still love to watch them whenever you are all well and our schedules coincide!

  3. LOL!
    wow….. glad to know that y’all are feeling better this weekend…
    🙂

  4. Mom says:

    “Sweetie” has it right! 🙂

Leave a Reply

