Playing Hooky…

It was just that kind of a day today.  We started out normally and made it through the first solid half of school.  But, through no fault of the kids, mommy had the grumpies today.  You know what I mean?

The kids were doing a good job and were learning their lessons and paying attention, but my patience bank was quivering at empty.  I hadn’t lost my patience yet, but there was no room for error.  I was in a mood…blue…bummed…frustrated with the glorious fall day being just beyond my reach.  Sooo, knowing that I was going to have to be indoors all afternoon for work, the kids and I chose to play hooky and we went outside!  And it was exactly what this overwhelmed mommy needed.

We started out by taking a nice walk down to the garden.  It’s been raining A LOT over the last week, so we haven’t been down there in several days.  I enjoyed fussing over the plants and picking a few veggies while the kids enjoyed playing with a couple neighbor kids.  One little neighbor girl (I think she’s about 2), was picking handfuls of grass and “tickling” the dandilions with the grass. “Tickle, tickle, tickle” and then she would giggle.  How cute is that!  After we played for a bit, we walked back to the car — err, minivan –and drove up to meet daddy between work and class. 

Seeing as it had been that kind of day — and that kind of week — I have yet to make it to the store to do my normal bi-weekly shopping, so lunch supplies were rather scarce and I was in no mood to scrounge.  Thus, we invited daddy to forego the sandwich I had packed him and we all trooped off to the local McDonalds.  Ahh…that hit the spot!  We brought the food back to the seminary with us and enjoyed a picnic on the grass in the beautiful sunshine. 

Once daddy headed off to class, we went to the playground outside our building and the kids played until the absolute last minute that I could spare from work.  The kids are both becoming expert bike riders.  Jonah zooms all over the place on his two-wheeler-with-no-training-wheels.  He has lost all fear of falling and now practices his racing!  Eeek.  Abby has decided that Jonah’s old bike is absolutely perfect and is feeling very grown up on her two-wheeler-with-training-wheels.  She started out going in a straight line directly into the grass but is slowly learning to turn the wheel.  She’s even practicing standing up on the pedals to help get more umph when she’s heading up a slight incline. 

All-in-all, I’m not a “playing hooky” type of person.  I like my routine.  BUT…I am feeling quite at peace with our decision today.  My kids are just growing up way too fast!  And as my sweetie says, what’s the point in homeschooling if you don’t build any flexibility into your schedule??

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Homeschool, Just Relaxing, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Playing Hooky…

  1. ooooohhhhhhhhh……
    i’m gonna tell the principal!!!!

  2. Steph says:

    Everyone needs a good break now and again. Too many people go through life never learning that truth. What a wonderful lesson for your kiddos to learn on such a beautiful day!

    I wonder, does that count as a school day still if they are learning an important life lesson 🙂
    Maybe you should take another break soon to be sure it counts as a break and not school work! (J/K)

Leave a Reply

