Mushrooms in our hot chocolate…

Pond at CampsiteWe went camping this weekend!  It was not our ideal camping trip, but lots of fun anyway.  We have been talking about this camping trip for weeks now, but our weekends have been so busy, that we hadn’t been able to nail down a time to pack up and leave.  So, the enthusiasm of both kids has been at the boiling over point for the past week.  

Over the past couple of days, Abby began talking about how much she loves “mushrooms” and how she couldn’t wait to have “mushrooms” in the woods.  I thought that was interesting, but we do like mushrooms in our house, and we have talked about how they grow in the woods, so I was impressed with her memory and let it go at that.

We drove up to the white mountains in New Hampshire early Saturday morning for a one-night camping trip.  We arrived in the rain and began setting up camp. As my sweetie was unpacking the van, I began heating some water for hot chocolate.  As I heated the water and began scooping hot cocoa mix into the cups, Abby stood on the bench beside me and very excitedly asked if she could have “mushrooms” in her hot chocolate. I laughed.  I couldn’t help it.  It finally dawned on me why she has been so excited about “mushrooms” lately.  Yes, we all had big, fat “mushrooms” in our hot chocolate that day! 

It continued to rain off-and-on throughout the evening.  It would stop for a bit and we would all venture cautiously outside the tent, but then it would start to rain again.  My poor sweetie ended up soaking wet while he cooked our hobo dinners — which we ended up enjoying inside the van.  Nature.  Gotta love it.

Even with the rain, I do love tent camping.  I realize that, with two small children, it would be SOOOO much easier to go camping in an rv or to rent a cabin, but I just feel like I’m cheating if we’re not pitching a tent to sleep in and answering the call of nature by squatting in the woods.  Well, to be honest, the campground had a bathroom…with flush toilets…so I guess we only half-way cheated.  So, on second thought, it’s only cheating if we don’t pitch our own tent…which we did, as you can see.  🙂

Campsite

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Just Relaxing, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mushrooms in our hot chocolate…

  1. wow…..
    fun.
    and i think i’d like some huge mushrooms in my hot cocoa as well.
    🙂

  2. Mama D says:

    …..ah, you obviously haven’t introduced my granddaughter to the joys of whipped cream in her hot chocolate!!!! I’ll have to work on that!

    I thought you said you went to the ‘mountains’….are you sure?? Glad you had a ‘soggy’ great time. We’re headed to Navajo in 2 weeks!

  3. Pingback: Unique Top Hits… « My Peace and Joy

Leave a Reply

