A Major Fit of Attitude…

Help me, PLEASE!!

My daughter is 3 1/2…which she feels entitles her to rule her own little world.  Thus, not to be outdone by Daddy, she is  currently working on her masters degree too….in Rebellion 101.

So, for the past little while, we have been semi-fighting the food battle.  You know what I mean.  How much of her dinner is she absolutely, positively required to eat before she is allowed to leave the table/have dessert/not be grounded to her room/etc.?  Well, this little battle culminated in all-out-war today.  Oh yes it did!

Lunch on Saturdays in our household usually consists of leftovers.  It’s a good way to clean out the fridge before the new week begins.  So, I broke out the leftovers, warmed up the Greens and Black-Eyed Peas for myself (because I LOVE them, but my kids despise them on principle — they are full of green vegetables after all!). Then, my son answered my call first, so he was allowed to choose his lunch first.  He chose the left over 1/4 of a quesadilla and a couple of stuffed pasta shells. 

Meanwhile, my sweet, adorable daughter meanders into the room and asks what’s for lunch.  I tell her that she gets the privilege, nay, the honor, of eating her left-over baked potato with cottage cheese and cheddar cheese sprinkled on top.  Well, she didn’t like that idea and sat in her chair singing and playing with anything and everything within her reach instead. 

Several warnings later, I walked over to her, scooped a bite of potato onto her fork and held it up to her mouth.

She refused to open her mouth!

I spoke very sternly.

She opened up…but she refused to chew. 

I spoke very sternly again. 

She ignored me. 

So I marched her cute little patootie (sp?) right over to the corner and placed her in time out.  After standing in time out for about..oh…5 seconds, she turned around, smiled at me and spit the potato (still unchewed) out of her mouth and onto the floor!! 

Ohhhhh, the mommy was NOT smiling.

Stubborn?  Yes!  Determined?  Yes!  (Hey, I’m talking about my daughter here.  Not me!!) 

So, dear daughter was sent to her room for a nap and mommy took some time out.

Advance with me please to this evening as the family is sitting down for dinner.  Dear sweet daughter is served up an oh-so-lovely plate of…baked potato.  She looked at her own plate, then at her brother’s bowl of Shepherd’s Pie and sweetly asked “can I have some of that?”  Ummm, NO.  You are to eat your potato or you will be having it for breakfast! 

As I said, my daughter is stubborn.  So, the plate of baked potato is still sitting in the fridge, waiting for breakfast tomorrow morning.

Any suggestions????????  Please???????  We’ve tried sending her to bed early for not eating her dinner.  Doesn’t bother her.  Anything else???  Pleeeeeeaaaasssseeee?????

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Major Fit of Attitude…

  1. Jordan Fast says:

    Sarah, I’m curious to hear what happened today? Did Abby get the potato for breakfast?

    My two cents… why make a 3 1/2 year old eat something she doesn’t want too? I agree she should eat what you’ve prepared for that particular meal… but to force her to eat the unfinished food each meal until its gone doesn’t make any sense to me. And that potato must be pretty gross and dried out by now.
    If Ava ever refused to eat the lunch I prepared for her I wouldn’t make her eat it. But when she came to me a few hours later hungry I’d offer her the lunch she didn’t finish. If she still refused, she’d have to wait until dinner for a different option.

    Keep us posted.

  2. oh girl………….. i have NO advice for that. except an intravenous drip.
    wow. i guess this means i have to eat your shepherd’s pie whether i want to or not?
    🙂

  3. Pingback: A Follow Up: A Major Fit of Attitude « My Peace and Joy

  4. Mom says:

    Clearly, that sweet, precious little girl loves a battle! Have you thought about (yes, it takes extra time) letting her clean, bake, and top her own potato so it’s her own handwork? Or, – to teach her to be kind when others offer – maybe she needs to “cook” the meal and have Daddy and Mommy and big brother spit it out and refuse to eat it. With a loving talk afterwords about how our actions make others feel. She may be older on the inside than she looks on the outside! – Not much wisdom here, just some ideas. (She doesn’t have a stash of goodies under the bed to keep her from getting hungry, does she? I know “another little girl” that did that!) Love

  5. George says:

    Stick to your guns Kid. If she refused to eat it she should go hungry until the next meal. I tried the keep serving it until he or she eats it plan. It didn’t work. So no snacks or dessert did it. When everyone who ate had ice cream or baked alaska or whatever then stubborn child wanted to eat. But it was too late dinner was put away. Child had to wait until breakfast to eat. Of course dessert was asked for when breakffast was over. I tsaid no not until after dinner.

Leave a Reply

