Oh, I have to talk about this one….

I’m riled up about this one….just to give you fair warning… 

This weekend, as I was meandering through a few blogs, I happened upon this post by Crownslaiddown about Nebraska Senator Ernie Chambers, who is suing God.  Being intrigued, I clicked on the link within her post to this article.  And of course, once I read that article, I had to click on the pdf file for the court document.

Sure, in this day and age — in America! –somebody trying to sue God does not shock me.  But, I wondered, what’s his angle?  What point is he trying to prove?  Turns out, according to the KPTM Fox 42 News, he’s trying to “fight possible laws restricting the filing of frivolous lawsuits.”  In other words, he’s trying to prove, through this lawsuit, that possible legislation restricting frivolous lawsuits should NOT be introduced/passed.  Am I missing something?  Because to me, filing a frivolous lawsuit to keep frivolous lawsuits from being restricted is a little counter-productive.

But, I don’t really want to go off on a long rant about the Senator’s choice.  What intrigues me more is embedded within his Petition for Permanent Injunction. 

In his Petition, the Senator requests that God be ordered to “cease certain harmful activities and the making of terroristic threats.” (These activities and threats include hurricanes, tornadoes, etc.)  He then goes on to argue that this case is allowed to be filed in this district court because God is present there through various agents “who publicly and notoriously hold themselves out to be agents of [God] who are authorized to speak for and represent [God].”  (Don’t even get me started on what some of these “agents” are saying….)  And that because God never “publicly has disavowed explicitly” these agents, they may be “deemed to be, in fact, agents of Defendant”. 

But here’s the kicker that wipes the mildly amused smile off my face:

“9.  Said agents…appear to be hopelessly alienated, fractious, separated from, and antagonistic towards one another.”

Wow.  Regardless of Senator Chambers purpose in preparing and filing this document, that statement cannot be easily dismissed.    And although he includes many “agents” within this document that are not associated with Christians in any way or form, we cannot deny that the Church is “alienated, fractious, separated from, and antagonistic towards one another.”  And that is not what we are supposed to be. 

It is very painful to realize that, as agents of God, our actions…our behavior is being used, albeit hopelessly, AGAINST GOD in an American court of law. 

Previously, I would have been very disheartened by this story.  Now, though, I maintain great hope.  Although the world may often see a disjointed and fractious body of Christ, I see and feel a current of believers who are crying out for change and who are bound and determined to show the world the true nature of Christ.  Little by little.  Individual person by individual person.  I am currently surrounded in a community of people who are spending their time digging into God’s word.  And they’re not turning away from the difficult parts.  As Isaiah 50:5 says:  “The Sovereign LORD has opened [our] ears, and [we] have not been rebellious;  [we] have not turned back”! 

I believe that a majority of Christians are honestly seeking God and growing in their faith (although we all have our ugly mood moments).  And that as we mentor each other and hold each other accountable, we will continue to prove to the world, one-by-one, that God is who he says he is.  And that he is THE Sovereign LORD whom we can fear (as the Senator is attempting to feed upon) and fall in love with at the same time!

Check out the above links and tell me what you think.  I’d love to hear your thoughts!

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Fun for Me, In the news, Political, Scripture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh, I have to talk about this one….

  1. um… my thoughts on this guy’s lawsuit against God is that he’s gonna be in big trouble!

    and my thoughts on this post: well, i didn’t understand half of what you said…. but i DO understand that you are REALLY REALLY smart.

    oh, and my brain hurts now.
    🙂

  2. Mom says:

    This guy’s in trouble – God always wins!! PTL! But, as Christians, let’s not make it any harder for Him – –

Leave a Reply

