A Date With My Sweetie…

Tonight, my sweetie and I were able to go on a honest-to-goodness, 100% bonafide date.  Not the kind of “date” we usually have where we spend some time playing board games or watching a movie after the kids go to bed.  Nope.  Tonight, we headed out.of.the.house! 

We have some very sweet friends in our building with two young girls who recently asked if we would like to start swappnig babysitting/date nights.  Being in seminary and living on the opposite side of the U.S. as the rest of our family (i.e., free babysitters), we were very open to this idea.  And, our sweet friends offered to be the first to babysit!

Unfortunately, the first night we planned a date, our kids came down with colds.  Then, the next weekend, we already had plans to go camping. 

So, three weeks after the initial suggestion, we finally had our date.

We enjoyed the evening with dinner at one of our favorite restaraunts in the area and then we headed over to the bookstore to browse for a little bit (with a Pumpkin Spice Latte from the in-store Starbucks…yummm).   

It’s sad, but true.  We love spending our dates roaming through a bookstore.  Can you tell we’re parents!  It’s just nice to be able to take our time and look at whatever we want without hearing such comments as “Can we please go to the kids books now?” or “It’s pink, Mama.  It’s pink!  Can we buy it…please?!” every two seconds… 

It’s funny, but somehow at the end of the night, our few purchases were all from the kids section.  Not sure how that happened.  *sigh*

Anyway, then we hurried home, put the kids to bed and sat down to enjoy the season premiere of Stargate Atlantis.

What’s your favorite date with your sweetie?

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Just Relaxing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Date With My Sweetie…

  1. Queenie Bee says:

    OH.MY.GOODNESS!!!!!!!!! We truly ARE alike in more ways than one!!! As you can see, it’s well past midnight, and I’m completely engrossed in your blog when I come to the part where you mention DATES AT THE BOOKSTORE!!!!!! That’s TOTALLY what my husband and I do as well…complete with the Starbucks coffee too!!!!! I just have to humby say that I think God has brought us together for a reason, and for that I am truly blessed.

Leave a Reply

