Make-Ahead/Freezable Recipe: Roast, Left-Over Roast Stew & Cornbread

pict6431.JPGpict6431.JPGThis recipe is a two-parter…actually three because I’m also going to include my recipe for cornbread, which I always serve with this stew.

I always make this stew after we have had roast for dinner.  Then I throw the whole thing in the refrigerator until later in the week when I know it’s going to be a busy day.  The stew is all ready to go and all I have to do is turn the crockpot on and let it cook.  So, first day:

CROCK-POT ROAST 

3-4 lb Beef Roast

1 envelope Onion Soup Mix (I usually use Lipton brand, but the store brand works just as well.)

1-15 oz can Tomato Sauce

1-15 oz can Beef Broth

1 TBS Garlic Powder

Baby Carrots

Sliced Potatos

Combine all ingredients in crockpot and cook on low all day.  Serve and enjoy.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LEFT-OVER ROAST STEW

Once dinner is over and the roast has cooled enough to handle, dice up any remaining carrots and potatoes and shred/cube the remaining roast.  Leave these in the crockpot with the left over “juice” from the Roast.  Add three more cups of beef broth, 2 bay leaves, Montreal Seasoning and garlic powder to taste (approx. 1-2 TBS each), and 1 cup each frozen corn and peas.  I also usually add a couple more potatoes and some more carrots to even out the mix. 

Place crock pot in fridge until next day or later in week.  When ready, cook stew in crockpot on low heat for 6-8 hours.   Serve with cornbread.  This stew makes a full crock-pot.  We eat our fill and freeze the rest.  Our family of four is usually able to get three meals of stew out of the leftover roast.  ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

SKILLET CORNBREAD:

In mixing bowl, combine:

2 cups cornmeal (I like to mix half yellow cornmeal and half white cornmeal);

3 TBS Flour

2 TBS Sugar

1 tsp Baking Soda

1 tsp Baking Powder

1 tsp Salt

Once combined, add in 1 egg and 1 3/4 cups milk. 

Meanwhile, in cast iron skillet, melt 2 TBS shortning.  Once melted, add to cornbread mixture; pour mixture into skillet.  Bake in oven at 375 for 20-25 minutes.  Serve with butter and honey!  Yumm. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Make-Ahead/Freezable Recipe: Roast, Left-Over Roast Stew & Cornbread

  1. Ang Baylis says:

    Those recipes look awesome! I’ve only made cornbread out of a Jiffy box! There is nothing like a crockpot dinner on a cold day! Cornbread sounds great with it… wait… I just read to serve with honey! MMMMMmmm!

    Thank you for sharing!
    I hope you are having a nice weekend!
    Love,
    Angie xoxo

  2. YUM!!!!!!!
    I guess I’ll try these freezable favorites as soon as I get through all ten bags of frozen fresh peanuts waiting to boil.
    🙂

  3. Mama D says:

    1. Tell Mandy to send some of those peanuts to NM! Haven’t had boiled peanuts in … like…. forever!!!!

    2. Exactly what did ‘sweetie’ (?????) say about ‘free apples”? Did you have to pick him up off the floor? (Scott, not Jonah…Jonah was just sharing like a good Cub Scout!!!)

    3. You’re holdiing out on these folks…where is the recipe for the Stuffed Pepper Soup???? This could be in the ‘Freezes Beautifully Section of your Cookbook”… and you want something that freezes beautifully! (woah, Steel Magnolia flashback!!!)

    4. Honey????? Honey????? Honey on southern cornbread? Oh my goodness ….. my poor grandmother!!!!

    As always, they sound great…I’ll pass them on to Kimberleigh.

    Karma Wilson…. I’m impressed! I’ll have to go and read ‘bear’ again!!!

    Remind sweetie that we will be thinking of him this weekend at the AIBF with Darth!

    Love ya,
    Mamma D!!!

  4. Wendy Summers says:

    I just wanted to thank you for posting this. I am a (fairly) new cook and I love the recipe. =}

  5. Pingback: Practicing Gratitude: Week 1 « My Peace and Joy

Leave a Reply

