Little Boys Who Like To Tell Jokes…

On Wednesday nights, I now carpool 3 little boys — all 7 years of age and under –to our local Awana night.  Wow.  The noise level can be a tad overwhelming at times.  But it’s fun and I enjoy listening to them converse.

Currently my son and his best ‘pal’ are learning how to tell jokes…and they think they are sooooooo funny.  Lately, they’ve been telling a lot of knock-knock jokes.  Actually, it’s not that their telling a lot of knock-knock jokes, it’s that they’re telling the same one over…and over…and over.  It goes like this:

Knock-Knock

Who’s there?

Banana.

Banana Who?

Knock-Knock.

Who’s there?

Banana.

Banana Who?

Repeat endlessly until mean Miss Sarah steps in and says, “We are not opening that door anymore unless it’s someone other than banana.”

Then, they quickly assure me…”no, no, no.  This time it’s different.  I promise!”  O.K.

Knock-Knock

Who’s there?

Orange.

Orange Who?

Orange you glad I didn’t say Banana!

At which point both boys collapse into a fit of giggles.

But this week, we moved on from the knock-knock jokes to the “why did the [fill in the blank] [fill in the action].  Now these are a whole new realm of jokes that the boys just haven’t figured out very well yet.  So as I’m driving along with the boys, who are completely oblivious to anything but themselves, I am giggling to myself over there hysterical attempts at making a joke.

Why did the ball jump through the window?

Why?

Because it wanted to jump out of the window and break into a million pieces and then jump back up into a really tall tower and roll back down the other side and end up in another country…like at the Tower of Piza.  You know the Tower of Pisa?  How could you be 7 years old — I mean 6 years old and NOT know what the Tower of Pisa is?!?  It’s like this Tower that leans without anything else holding it up!

As you see, more often than not, the joke turns into a rambling story after which the boy not telling the joke would say “I don’t get it.”  Than the other boy would say “I don’t get it either…but who cares!”  And both boys would bust up laughing again. 

Boys.  I don’t get them.  But they sure do crack me up!

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Kids, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Little Boys Who Like To Tell Jokes…

  1. Steph says:

    That story totally cracks me up, because I have witness kids doing that very thing and can picture the entire thing!

  2. LOL!!!!!!!!!!!
    Do you sometimes wonder if our husbands were once this goofy?
    Or maybe you’d just look on and think “Now, THAT explains a LOT!”

  3. Mom says:

    Aren’t these boys great! Pure fun with no maliciousness! They are a great example to us! The Lord has given us a wonderful gift in a sense of humor to laugh and lift each other up with. It is sad that the world has corrupted it into something that is not funny at all, and we need to be careful how much we expose our selves and our children to it. Keep up the good parenting, but don’t be suprised if soon you hear an exasperated son say – “Mom – – I’m not a LITTLE boy!!!”

  4. Jenn says:

    LOL! I sure am missing a whole lot by staying home 🙂 It sure does show how creative they are, and boy, do they both have such a great imagination!

Leave a Reply

