(Easy, Freezable, Make-Ahead) Recipe: Stuffed Pepper Soup

I received this recipe as part of an e-mail recipe exchange and really enjoy it.  I love stuffed peppers, so I was game to try this recipe as soon as I read the name.  However, even those who don’t like stuffed peppers seem to like this soup.  The recipe says to cook in a large pot, but I usually throw the ingredients into the crock-pot and let it simmer all day.  Just be careful not to add the rice too soon if you’re using a crock-pot.  Mushy rice does not make a pleasant soup. 

Stuffed Pepper Soup

1 1/2 lbs ground beef, browned and drained

3 large diced green peppers (or a combination of sweet yellow, red or orange peppers)

28 oz can diced tomatoes

28 oz can tomato sauce

15 oz beef broth

1/2 cup brown sugar

2 cups cooked rice

salt, pepper and garlic to taste.

Mix all ingredients except rice in large pot.  Bring to a boil.  Simmer for 30 minutes, uncovered…stir often.  Add cooked rice. 

Serve and enjoy!

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to (Easy, Freezable, Make-Ahead) Recipe: Stuffed Pepper Soup

  1. Mama D says:

    Finally, the good one!!! Where are the Apple Dumplings? One needs a nice desert after this wonderful soup.

Leave a Reply

