Do You Like Surprises?

To surprise or not to surprise, that is the question.  This actually has become one of the ongoing questions in our marriage.  My sweetie loves to plan surprises for me.  He likes to start planning a surprise weeks ahead of time and then tease me with the knowledge that there is a surprise without giving me any of the details.  He takes GREAT joy in this.

I, on the other hand, am not a surprise kind of person.  I don’t like to surprise or to be surprised.  That would be my controlling, worrying nature popping up in full force.  If I were to try to surprise someone else, I would worry that they would not be available, or that I would be interrupting something more important, or that they would not like surprises (like me), or some other random worry. 

I do, however, love the effort that my sweetie puts into planning surprises for me.  And he orchestrates very good surprises.  The surprises are not disappointing.  All in all, I know I should just relax and go with the flow.  I trust my sweetie, so what’s the big deal.

But, then again, how do I know what to wear: sweater or t-shirt? jacket or not? shoes or heels? full make-up or no make-up at all?  Should I pack snacks and games for the kids?  Should I prepare for an all-day in the sun kind of surprise or an enjoy-the-sights-from-the-comfort-of-the-car kind of trip.

See?  There lies the problem.  I overanalyze.  Then I start to pester with questions.  Then my sweetie gets annoyed that his wonderful surprise is being picked apart by his over-anxious wife.

And then I sweetly smile and remind him, “But I’ve already told you, I don’t like surprises!”

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Do You Like Surprises?

  1. ditto!
    i don’t like surprises either. that makes us great friends!

  2. Mama D says:

    Gee, you didn’t seem to mind when the kids were back in OKC after your trip to Massachusetts!!!! ‘Sweetie’ gets the surprise thing naturally…from GG and from moi! Relax and just enjoy! How special you must be that he works so hard to pull these off!

  3. Queenie Bee says:

    Hi Sarah!!!!!! I’m soooo excited to be your new Blog Swap Pal!!! I’ll email you so that we can chat more, but I just wanted to say “HI!” and let you know that I love your blog. I just noticed your Beth Moore link over to the left too… I LOOOOOVE HER!!!!! We’re off to a great start when we have BETH on common. 🙂 Talk to ya’ soon!

  4. Ang Baylis says:

    You are so funny! I have to tell you that I don’t like surprises either! I’ve had 2 suprise Birthday parties and I knew about both of them ahead of time! It was terrible. I tried to act surprised, but wasn’t. You have a nice husband to want to do special things for you. Cherish him! A lot of us don’t have husbands who do those things! 🙂
    Hope you are having a good weekend!
    Love,
    Angie xoxo

Leave a Reply

