What is your favorite cookie recipe?

I am in the mood for cookies.  Have been all week.  And to be honest, I’m a tad bit bored with chocolate chip cookies.  I know.  I may have to be shunned for that comment, but it’s true all the same.  So.  I’m wondering.  What good cookie recipes are you all hiding from me?  🙂  Let’s just have a cookie sharing party for a couple days…and I hope everyone will play along!!!

I’ll start by sharing my mom’s recipe for Chocolate Crinkles, which my 6 year old son is quite good at making.  Then, I expect everyone who reads this post to share their favorite recipe.  😉  If you have a blog of your own, I would love it if you posted your recipe on your blog and then left me a comment with a link to your post.  If you don’t want to go that route, please leave the recipe in a comment here.

And for a certain dear friend, *cough*, Stephanie, *cough*, I’m going to put you on the spot and hope that you will play along and share the recipe for those DELICIOUS oatmeal-raisin, chocolate-chip cookies I had the other night.  🙂

Don’t spoil the fun, now.  I’ve got a huge hankerin’ for a good cookie! 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Chocolate Crinkles

3 eggs

1 1/2 cups granulated sugar

4 ozs unsweetened chocolate, melted

1/2 cup cooking oil

2 teaspoons baking powder

2 teaspoons vanilla

2 cups all-purpose flour

powdered sugar

Beat the eggs, granulated sugar, chocolate, oil, baking powder and vanilla with an electric mixer until combined; beat in as much of the flour as you can with the mixer.  Stir in remaining flour.  Cover and chill 1-2 hours or until easy to handle.  Shape dough into balls and roll in powdered sugar.  Bake on ungreased cookie sheet at 375 for 8-10 minutes.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Just Relaxing, Random, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What is your favorite cookie recipe?

  1. yeah stephanie!!!
    we want the recipe!
    🙂

  2. Ang Baylis says:

    I don’t have any great ones to share! At Christmas I usually make…

    Peanut Butter Buckeyes
    1/2 c. butter
    1-1/3 c. peanut butter
    3 c. confectioner’s sugar
    Chocolate Bark… melted in microwave.

    Mix first three ingredients and roll in balls. Dip in Chocolate bark and drop on wax paper!

    Thanks for sharing yours! Now I have a sweet tooth!
    Love,
    Angie xoxo

  3. Steph says:

    I posted the recipe on my blog for the cookies
    But here is my mom’s recipe for:
    PUMPKIN BREAD

    3 c sugar
    4 c flour (sifted)
    1 large can pumpkin
    4 tsp baking soda
    2 tsp cinnamon
    1 tsp cloves, crushed
    1 tsp allspice
    1 tsp salt
    1 TB vanilla
    1 c oil
    2 c nuts, chopped

    Mix all ingredients. Pour into 2 well greased loaf pans. Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour or until done.
    I don’t always use nuts since Allen doesn’t care for them.

  4. Steph says:

    So when is the share-your-spiced-cider-recipe blog post? I don’t have one, but I would love yours! It was soooo good!

  5. Queenie Bee says:

    Hi Sarah! I just joined in on your cookie recipe swap and have posted a recipe on my blog. Thanks for the fun! I can’t wait to do some baking!

  6. The Queenie Bee sent me…and it brought back memories of these Raisin Cookies that gram made…like a cake cookie with raisins inside. I have to find that recipe…

    5 Cups Flour
    1 Tsp. Baking Soda
    1 Tsp. Salt
    1 Cup Butter
    2 Cups Sugar
    2 Eggs
    1 Tsp. Vanilla
    1 Cup Buttermilk

    Combine the butter, sugar, eggs and vanilla. Add flour, soda and salt to cream mixture, alternate with the buttermilk. Set aside

    Raisin Filling:
    2 Cups Raisins
    1/2 Cup Water
    1/2 Cup Sugar
    1 Tablespoon Butter
    1 Tsp. Salt
    1/3 Cup Orange Juice and Zest of one Orange

    Grind the raisins, add all ingredients and bring to a boil until it thickens. Roll out the cookie dough, cut with cookie cutter, fill with the raisin filling put a top on and pinch around sides. Bake 350 for 15 to 15 minutes. Sprinkle with sugar when you bring them out of the oven.

    Old fashioned and YUMMY…but her’s always turned out MUCH better than mine!!:) I’ll keep trying!
    great idea!
    ~lori

  7. Mom says:

    All these cookies & breads sound so good! I thought I’d throw in my favorite even though it has been around a long time. Sometimes I shape and decorate them for holidays. The best part is they are yummiest when eaten in the first couple days. 🙂
    Scotcheroos
    1 cup sugar
    1 cup light corn syrup
    1 cup peanut butter (we like chunky)
    6 cups Rice Krispie cereal
    1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
    1/2 cup butterschotch chips
    Heat sugar and corn syrup, stirring constantly, just until it boils. Take off heat and stir in peanut butter. Pour mixture over rice cereal. Mix well and press into 9X13 pan. Melt all chips in microwave blending well and spread over top of cookies.
    Love, Mom

  8. James says:

    Nice blog, very informative contents. I too have delicious cookies recipe. For more information on cookie recipes you can visit this site http://www.cookiesmadeeasy.com/

  9. Joe says:

    Carob Cookies
    1 cup cold pressed extra virgin olive oil
    1 cup honey & carob spread (available from http://www.holyfoodimports.com)
    2 tsp vanilla
    1 tsp baking soda
    4 cups flour
    1/2 tsp salt
    12 oz carob chips or about 1 cup (walnuts also tend to work here)

    Mix together first three ingredients.
    Add rest of ingredients; mix.
    Then spoon onto baking tray.
    Bake at 370 for 8-9 minutes

Leave a Reply

