Christmas Memories…

I grew up with three brothers, two older and one younger.  All of us were born within 5 years.  Being close in age, and having been taught to love and respect each other, we managed to work together to create all kinds of mischief!

One of the first Christmases that I remember was from when I was probably 5 or 6.  I remember this Christmas because it was the first year that the four of us made it our mission to stay up all night long!  This is how it was going to go:

First, we would all go to bed and pretend to fall asleep.  We were not raised to believe in Santa Clause, so we knew that we only had to pretend long enough for Mom and Dad to set out all of the presents and go to bed themselves.  Then, the boys would all hop out of bed, sneak into my room (the furthest one from Mom and Dad’s room), and we would whisper our plans.

We had it all worked out.  We would take shifts sneaking into the living room to sit in the cushy chair and watch the living room clock.  Once it was 6:00, the last person on shift would wake up us other three and we would all wake up Mom and Dad.

(Mom and Dad, being the sensible people that they are, and having learned from Christmases past, imposed a rule of no touching the presents OR the stockings, and no waking up the parents until at least 6:00 a.m.!)

So….the first shift began.  We were so hyped up on holiday cheer, I believe we made it completely through the first set of shifts. 

But, alas, the soft glow cast by the lights on the Christmas tree, the constant rhythmic ticking of the clock and the ever increasing persistence of our tired minds won out, and we all eventually fell asleep, with my 2nd eldest brother falling asleep in the chair out front.

I don’t remember which of us woke up first in the morning — I like to remember it as being me — but eventually, one of us did.  And it was after 6:00!

After that, much excitement ensued.  We pounced on Mom and Dad and tried to hurry them along in getting ready for presents.  When they were finally ready and in the living room, Dad read the Christmas story, and finally it was time to open the presents.

I don’t remember any of my presents from that year.  Or anything more about that specific Christmas.  I suppose the energy required to attempt an all-nighter like that exhausted my memory. 

What’s your favorite Christmas memory?  Did you ever try to pull an all-nighter as a kid?

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Fun Stuff, Kids, Random and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas Memories…

  1. Jordan Fast says:

    one of my first Christmas memories is sitting around the kitchen table and singing happy birthday to Jesus… how sweet is that?! hahaha 🙂

Leave a Reply

