She was beautiful and she was kind…

My Aunt was killed Wednesday night.  She was hit by a car while crossing an icy street after dark to take flowers to a neighbor.  Aunt Janice was my Dad’s youngest sister.

I admit that it has been far too long since I have seen my Aunt.  I live so far from home now, and have for so many years, that connections with family — outside of my immediate family — just don’t happen very often.   Life ends too quickly.  And too tragically.

I remember my Aunt Janice as being very glamourous.  Whether or not she felt that way, I don’t know.  But she always seemed very “together”, trendy, outgoing, fun.  I remember her big smiles.

I wish I remembered more about her.  I wish I could mourn her with the rest of my family rather than from afar.  I wish that I could give my dad a long, long hug.  And my grandfather, too.  It was my Grandpa’s birthday yesterday. 

She was younger than my parents.  And now, so quick, she is gone.

Please pray for my family during this time.  Prayer is powerful.  God can comfort across the miles. 

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to She was beautiful and she was kind…

  1. Mama D says:

    We are so sorry to hear of a loss in our family. You will all be in our prayers. I’ll get a note off to your folks shortly. There are no words that really help, so we will just keep you lifted up in our prayers and rely, once again, on God’s provision of exactly what we need for each moment. We love you all.

    Mom and Dad D.

  2. Mom says:

    Thank you, Sarah, for the sweet tribute to Aunt Janice. I will send on your loving hugs to your Dad and Grandpa, and we do so appreciate everyones prayers.
    Love, Mom

  3. mandy says:

    so sorry to hear about this, sarah……

    i miss you

Leave a Reply

