His role has been usurped by a 7 year old…

My son is 7.  SEVEN!  And already, he has usurped his father’s role.

My sweetie has long looked forward to his right, as a dad, to finish whatever his kids can’t eat at the dinner table.  At least, if it’s something good.  Unfinished hamburgers, pizza, lasagna, etc.  Unfortunately, he has never truly been able to enjoy this right because our son has developed the habit of asking his sister if he can finish her food before she’s even done eating.

My son is a bottomless pit!  I am not exagerating here people.  BOT-TOM-LESS!!!

Tonight, we did some grocery shopping.  And sense since we were out late, we stopped by the always popular McDonalds for a quick dinner.  Jonah requested his usual Cheeseburger Big Kids Meal.  Now, for those of you who don’t know, the “Big Kids” means that he is not just having a cheeseburger, he is having a double-cheeseburger.  With fries.  And a soda.

Well, the kids were soooo hungry…. that we let them eat their meals on the way home.  By the time we pulled into the parking lot (less than 10 minutes later), his meal was gone.  Every last bit of it.  Every last fry.  The entire soda.  Everything.  And he was “starving”.

So, I gave him some cheese. 

“What else can I have mom?  Can I have a muffin?”  Sure.  They’re pumpkin muffins.  With nuts and chocolate chips.  That should fill up his little tummy.  After all, one lasts me all morning. 

He chomped that muffin down in about three bites and started digging through the grocery bags while he was still chewing the last bite of muffin.

“Jonah, what are you looking for?”

“The meat, Mom.  Where’s the meat we just bought?”

I dug out the sliced salami we had just bought from the deli and he ate two slices sandwiched with two more pieces of cheese.

Guess what, people.  Still hungry.

At this point, I told him he needed to let his tummy settle for a bit.  15 minutes later he’s still hungry.  Yep, I’m going to have to go find him something else to eat.

And this is not a one time thing.  If there are no tomatoes or green things in the meal, he is usually wolfing down seconds and thirds.  In fact, he had 2 large helpings for lunch today.

My question is, how on earth are we going to feed this boy when he is 16?!?

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Kids, Parenting, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to His role has been usurped by a 7 year old…

  1. Joe Louthan says:

    If you want, I will give you my grandmother’s phone number. She had three boys of her own but then she raised two more boys (my brother and I being her grandsons).

    My dad and my uncles are no less than 6 feet.

    My brother and I are 6’6″ and weigh no less than 220lb.

    To say we could eat everybody out of house and home is an understatement. I don’t know how she kept food in the house.

    My son, 5 years old, biggest kid in the class by a long shot. Taller and full of muscle. He used to eat several small meals a day but they don’t have to consist of red meat, breads or junk. Just today, he put aside a plate of pasta and some kind of junk food just so that he could have my bowl of veggies. He wolfs that down and then polishes off the rest of that meal.

    I laugh when I see it. My ex-wife worries to death.

  2. lisamm says:

    I have the opposite problem with my oldest daughter (10). I swear she lives on air.. hardly eats at all. My younger one (9) has a more normal appetite and loves her snacks.

  3. Mama D says:

    Oh, my goodness! Jonah, you are a hoot! Tell Abbs to start eating UNDER the table. I am going to have a ball with this one at school! I realize that all 3 kids were ‘good’ eaters, but I seriously don’t remember them being this good! Oh, if only we could get PJ to do this!!! At the rate we are going grandchild #7 is going to out weigh grandchild #1 pretty soon!!!

    And for ‘Sweetie” …. please consider this particular portion to be written in ‘red’ ….. at the beginning…. SINCE not SENSE! silly girl. keep these coming. I’m off to forward the site to several of the teachers! Love you ALL!!! Mama D

  4. Sarah says:

    *blush* Thanks, Mama D. I corrected my spelling error.

    Sweetie laughed. He’s happy I got some pay-back for “bleeding” all over his school papers. 🙂

  5. MamaD says:

    Hey, I have to help my son out a little bit don’t I???? Did the same thing to one of the 3rd grade teachers who messed up on a word on our website. Thus the reason I was taught at the magazine that you never proof your own work! The Martha Stewart cake is such a hit! I can’t believe you did that. That needs to be your next post!!!! Ms. Peck is still laughing!

    Mama D

Leave a Reply

