Because She Thinks I Am…

It all started about a month ago.  My sweetie was talking to his sister on the phone, shortly after Christmas.  At some point in the conversation, his sister made the comment that I am “the Martha Stewart of the family”.

Just to clarify, I do not see myself as the “Martha Stewart” of any family, let alone mine.  But I found the comment to be quite funny.

My sweetie and I moved on to other things and time kept marching along.  Then, two weekends ago, we were sitting at the dinner table when my sweetie reminded me that we needed to pick up a birthday card soon for his sister.  I laughed and said we better pick it up that weekend so I could get it in the mail Monday…because as the “Martha Stewart of the family”, I couldn’t have the card showing up late.

Well, my sweetie, joining in with my playful mood, said:  “It’s too bad you can’t stick a little cupcake in the card.  That would be funny!”.

At this point, my sweetie claims that my face lit up and I had a devilish grin on my face.  I think he’s probably exaggerating.  I said, “cupcake!  I would send a whole cake!”  My sweetie laughed but said that would cost way too much to send, to which I replied “not with a flat rate box!”

Well, once the idea was planted in my head, I just couldn’t leave well enough alone…so…two days later, this is what I placed in a flat rate box on its way to my sister-in-law:

               the-martha-stewart-of-the-family-002.jpg

Needless to say, my sweetie’s family found the gift to be very funny.  Happy Birthday, Kim!

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Just Relaxing, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Because She Thinks I Am…

  1. MamaD says:

    Funny???? Very funny???? You think we thought it was funny? We were soooo excited! We’ve never received a cake in a box! The cake was wonderful. I will send pictures. I had so much fun relaying the story at school. Kim and Prent had fun decorating the Martha Stewart cake! We appreciate your hard work and delightfully ‘Donis-esque” sense of humor you’ve developed. Thanks for bring smiles to all of us on a cold mountain night!

    Love ya bunches…… Mama D

    Remind Jonah that God will also keep an eye on what he’s doing and tell Mama!!!! Only Jonah would come up with that one!!!!

  2. Stephanie says:

    This is hysterical!!

    Here by way of Beth’s roll call. Saw you are in MA so I thought I’d stop by and say, “Hi, Neighbor.” (I’m in RI. Depending on where you are, we really could be neighbors.) = )

  3. Mom says:

    What a creative idea! This would be perfect for college kids, etc. Maybe you should go into business!
    ~ Love

Leave a Reply

