Toby Keith’s Biggest Fan

My sweet son, who is seven, loves….loves…Toby Keith.  I don’t know exactly where this came from, but it’s there.  I suppose it probably helps that my Sweetie and I went to a Toby Keith concert when I was about 7 months pregnant with Jonah.  He danced in my tummy the whole time.  And that we lived in Oklahoma (within 20-45 miles of Toby Keith’s hometown) for the first 5 years of his life.  And it probably also helps that we have eaten at Toby Keith’s signature restaraunt in Oklahoma City, I Love This Bar and Grill.  And my Sweetie and I do enjoy his music as well. 

But Jonah.  Sweet Jonah.  Well, when he decides he likes something, he doesn’t just kinda like it.

So, for Christmas, Jonah really wanted a cowboy hat (among many other pirate, spy, lego and Cowboy related items).  So, after much searching, and I do mean MUCH searching (do you know how difficult it is to find a decent cowboy hat in New England!?!) we finally found a white, “Toby Keith” cowboy hat at Walmart.  It actually had Toby Keith’s name on the tag. 

Jonah was bouncing-off-the-walls excited.

He was so excited that my Sweetie decided to make Jonah his very own compilation CD of Toby Keith songs for Christmas.  Needless to say, we hear Toby Keith’s full-volume twang in our home quite often.

And when we have the radio on in the car, every couple songs Jonah will ask very excitedly, “Is this Toby Keith?  Is this Toby Keith?  I love Toby Keith”.  We just have to laugh.

Anywho, the point of my story.

On Wednesday, Abby was still contagious with her viral thingy, so she wasn’t able to go to Awanas.  And, since my Sweetie has class on Wednesday nights, I couldn’t leave her home with him.  So, Jonah rode to Awanas with Ms. Jenn and Josiah.  When Ms. Jenn brought Jonah home, we were standing at the door talking for a few minutes when she says that he did the cutest thing in the car.  She then proceeds to tell me that she happened to be listening to a country station when Toby Keith came on.  Jonah became very excited and asked her “Is this Toby Keith?  I LOVE Toby Keith!  Do you like Toby Keith?”  And he was so excited about Toby Keith that she had to laugh.

Yep.  Toby Keith’s current biggest fan is a seven year old boy living in New England.  Go figure.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Kids, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Toby Keith’s Biggest Fan

  1. Jenn says:

    And when I went to pick them up, I heard a Toby Keith song and told Jonah that he had just missed it….he was bummed!!! 🙂

  2. Mama D says:

    Jonah??? Excited??? Are you sure you’re talking about MY grandson, Jonah?? Can’t be??? You do have the pix of him waiting at Toby’s restaurant, don’t you? Maybe I’ll have an enlargement done for him!!! What a wonderful grandson he is!

    Love you guys,
    Mama D

  3. Jenn says:

    Hey, Sarah. Just wanted you to know that I created a blog of my own. You can find it at http://www.theaaronfam.blogspot.com

  4. Mom says:

    What a delightful grandson! Such joy and exuberance for life, whatever he does! And thank you for the birthday wish – it was a blessed day!
    ~ love

  5. Santana says:

    Toby Keith is one of the best singers for me, and without doubt, for a lot of other people. I fall in love with this singer’s music this is a long time and his style affects me so deeply. I attended many of his concerts and it’s there where I realized that I’m not the only who loves this awesome singer, and I notices that his music has great effects on people. This popularity causes trouble for his lovers, including me; because in each concert it becomes so hard to find a ticket then the ticket brokers find the opportunity to sky rock prices. A friend of mine recommended me website where to compare ticket prices before booking. And I think it may be useful for you. Here it is:
    http://www.ticketwood.com/concerts/Toby-Keith-Tickets/index.php
    Toby Keith Tickets

Leave a Reply

