The Black Plague

So, with my wife sick (again) and not wanting her to get grumpy emails for not posting, I have decided to try to step in and blog a bit for her, until she gets better.

If real life were like the movies, this is the point in which the government would step in and surround our home with a 200ft wall and never let anyone in or out again; or we would get shipped off to a remote medical facility for testing our germs to be used in weird experiments. For the past three weeks, my wife and kids have been passing around a cold bug; I had it for a brief time, but got over it and have been living on vitamin c and Echinacea ever since. Both of the kids have been missing their swim lessons and Awanas, and Abby had a touch of a respiratory infection.

I have assumed most of the roles of the wife for the time, cooking and cleaning and taking care of the kiddos. I am having a few flash backs to my time in OKC, when I was a stay at home dad, but I am finding this time more stressful as I am also trying to keep on top of my classes (which I have to say I am not doing a good job of right now). I had high hope for this reading week, but so far, they have come up short. But it is ok, I know where my priorities lie, with my family, not my classes. Classes and grades will come and go, but my family is forever, and making them more comfortable is the most important thing. (I have to keep reminding myself of that, especially when I get really stressed over my home work and reading!) I am painfully aware of how much my wife and kids have sacrificed for me to be in school, both in time and in our finances. So taking care of them is the least that I can do for them right now.

So I will continue to sleep on the hide-a-bed, scrub, sanitize, and clean the house and care for my family, so that once they get all better, I can get sick and enjoy some TLC from my loving family, assuming they haven’t walled us in by that point.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Random, Scott on Life. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Black Plague

  1. Scott – does this mean YOU are co-leading the bible study with me tomorrow night?
    🙂

  2. Jenn says:

    I’m sorry that nasty bug is still going through your family. Hope all is back to normal soon! Your did a great job “blog-sitting.”

  3. AZ says:

    It’s nice to hear from you, Scott, but hopefully the next time your words grace cyberspace it will be under different circumstances. The cold that’s been going around, even out here, seems to last longer than it should. I hope Sarah, Jonah and Abby get well soon! The fun will be there when they are better! Bless your heart!
    Sending lots of love from Oregon – The Zs

  4. Hutch says:

    Now, that would be quite a sight. Scott leading a Beth Moore Bible study. Oy.

  5. Mom says:

    Oh, Scott – you are a keeper! Thanks for being such a wonderful husband, dad and man of God who has his priorities right! We pray your family will all be well very soon!
    ~ love, Dad & Mom

  6. Jordan says:

    Get well, get well soon!!!! Thanks for keeping us up to date Scott!!!!

  7. Pingback: Easy/Freezable/Crock-Pot Recipe: Barbeque Pork Rib Soup « My Peace and Joy

  8. Sarah says:

    Thank you so much to everyone for your thoughts and prayers! And thank you for all of the sweet comments about Scott’s post. I LOVED having him babysit my blog. I’ll have to talk him into contributing more often!

  9. Mama D says:

    Sorry I am so late in reading these. I haven’t been on much at home and we’ve been in a test cycle at school so my internet time is limited there!
    You do a ‘Mama’ proud! Proud of the husband, father and role model you have become for those who know you. Will be praying that the reading comes easier for you right now and that there will be peace as you work on catching up.

    Love,
    Mama D

Leave a Reply

