Braggin’ Rights…

My friend, Mandy, gave her readers an assignment a little over a week ago that I didn’t have time to think through earlier, but I love the assignment, so…here it is.  Better late than never?

Today’s assignment – share the following (either here, or leave a comment telling us its on your blog – linking in to this post):
1) one BIG HUGE brag – something huge that makes you proud of your spouse.
2) one LITTLE THING brag – one of the little things, the little day-in and day-out kinda stuff, that keeps love going between you.

My BIG HUGE brag:  My sweetie hasn’t given up!  School has never been easy for him.  When he takes a class, he has to put in at least twice as much study time as the average student.  Not because he isn’t smart.  Quite the contrary.  He is one of the most intelligent people I know.  And he by far has more knowledge in his head on a variety of subjects than I do.  We just don’t learn the same way.  And we don’t test the same way.  And unfortunately, grades don’t always reflect the amount of work he has put into a subject.  Or how much information he has retained in his head.  

All this to say, my sweetie works his patootie off in grad school right now.  And on top of that, he’s working 15-20 hours a week.  And he’s still managing to find time to spend with his wife and kids.  I know he struggles to keep everything balanced, but he does.  He keeps his eyes on the goal and he hasn’t ever given up.  He is an amazingly strong person and I am immensely proud of him. 

My LITTLE THING brag:  My sweetie is a handy-man!  And he takes care to keep things in good shape.  These two qualities help us to make ends meet on a tighter budget. 

For instance, when the paint on our van began chipping, he went to the store and very carefully chose the exact color of touch-up paint and fixed the hood.  

When one of the kids’ toys breaks, he carefully and patiently works on it until it is fixed, and there are very few times that he is not able to fix the toy. 

When one of my teacups or other “pretties” breaks in a move or in a kid-accident, he carefully collects all the chips and pieces them back together with superglue. 

And there are so many other examples of this that I could end up talking your ear off.  But I won’t…today.  Suffice it to say, my husband provides for our family in many ways, one of which is to keep our possessions lasting as long as possible.  

What makes you proud of your sweetie?

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Marriage. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Braggin’ Rights…

  1. LOVE this… and, yes, better late than never…. YAY sweetie!

  2. Mama D says:

    What a nice, touching post! Good job, Sweetie! (That just sounds strange for a Mom to say!) We marvel at what he has accomplished, and how much more his determination and persistence increased with you by his side and Jonah sending him to the library! We could not have put a more perfect couple together if we had tried! We are proud of all 4 of you!

    Mama D

  3. Mama D says:

    S E R I O U S L Y????????

    SHUT UP!

    WHAT A GREAT PHONE CONVERSATION THIS MORNING!

    I AM WAAAAAAAAAY STOKED!

    WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEH!

    (CAN YOU TELL?????)
    (breath in, out, in, out, in, out….repeat…. )

Leave a Reply

