On discovering that my 7 year-old son is smarter than me…

This weekend, we had planned to journey with another family to the beautiful state of Vermont to explore the maple farms as they begin their maple sugar season.  However, we are quickly nearing the end of the spring semester and both husbands are feeling the pressure to study, study, study.  So, instead of making a full-day trip with everyone in tow, we opted to leave the men-folk behind in the quietness of a child-free world while us women-folk bundled up the kids and headed to the zoo. 

The zoo in question is approximately 30 minutes from us and was having an Easter Extravaganza Saturday, so we were bound to have fun…once we got there.  But first, we had to squish into the mini van with 2 adults, 4 kids (3 girls all age 3 and under, and Jonah) and enough strollers to match.  That’s enough to wear out the moms before the trip even starts!  We ended up with Steph’s one-kid stroller and our two-kid jogging stroller, which my sweetie had kindly folded into its most compact form with the wheels removed and placed in the back of the van.  He’s so good to me.  

Being all packed up, we waved our good-byes and confidently headed off.

Upon reaching the zoo, we began unpacking and loading up the strollers.  Unfortunately, when I pulled said stroller out of the back of the van, I realized that my sweetie is so good at pampering me (the following is not a complaint…sweetie, please continue to pamper me.  I love it!!), that I no longer remembered how to attach the wheels to the stroller…or even how to finagle it from its current compact state into a proper upright position. 

Realizing it was quite likely that I could still be struggling with this stroller in the parking lot when the zoo closed that evening, I was thankful when my 7 year-old son/gentleman-in-training came to my rescue with his super-hero like abilities.  Our collaberation with the stroller went something like this:

Me:  Jonah, do you know how to do this?

Jonah:  Yes, Mom.  Here, let me help.

He proceeds to unbuckle/untie the necessary buckles and straps and helps me pull the stroller into an upright position.

Mama:  Thank you, Jonah, and do you know how to put the wheels on?  (Please say yes, please say yes!)

Jonah:  Oh, yeah Mom, it’s easy.  You just….

As he proceeds to push the correct button and pop his wheel on in about 2 seconds flat. 

Mama:  Good job, Jonah!  (looking skeptically at my wheel)  Can you put mine on too?

Jonah:  Sure, Mom.  Here.  (pop)

Thank goodness my son thinks his dad hangs the moon and watches everything he does…and I’m sure glad I have that 4-year college degree or I’d feel pretty silly right now!! 

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Just Relaxing, Kids, Parenting, Random and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to On discovering that my 7 year-old son is smarter than me…

  1. Mama D says:

    Just imagine being that poor Memaw with NO college degree! Maybe you should contact GCTS and see if there is a degree for over-achieving 7 year olds!!! He and his dad could walk the aisle together!

    Way to go Jonah!!!

    Love you,
    Memaw!

  2. Jenn says:

    Our babies are becoming men, aren’t they?

  3. Mom says:

    Hooray for every penny “well-spent” on that college degree! 🙂 Hooray for a brilliant grandson who can rescue his Mommy in her hour of need! And Hooray for a Daddy who somehow finds the time to train his son so well!
    Love You All –

  4. HA!!! i’m not a mom. but i WAS once a kid.

    advice: NEVER let on that you think he might know anything about anything more than you… you’ll be in BIG trouble if he figures it out…… he he!

  5. Jenn says:

    Hey, check out my latest post. I tagged you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

