My pride doesn’t know what it’s talkin’ about…

A friend and I have started circuit training (weight machines) at the gym 3 days a week.  So far, we have just been once.  Well, twice if you include our introductory session on Monday.   That’s when our personal trainer for 3 introductory sessions (courtesy of our YMCA membership) showed us each of the weight training machines and how to use them.  But, since we didn’t have time to do more than a quick test of each machine, I can’t really count that as a workout.  So, we went back on Tuesday and went through the entire circuit.

The circuit includes 12 machines and we do 12 reps on each machine.  It didn’t take us too long and by the time we finished, I admit, I felt it was a bit too easy of a workout.  After all, that’s like doing 12 situps, 12 pushups, etc.  And yes, the weight was enough to make me hurt by the 12th rep, but I still felt like I should be going through the circuit several times instead of just once…to get a proper workout. 

See, that was my pride talking.

Today, let me tell you, one time through the circuit is sounding like plenty!  My legs feel ok, but my shoulders are aching!  And I get to go do the circuit again today.  Who’s betting I won’t come home so cocky this afternoon!

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in fitness, health, pride. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My pride doesn’t know what it’s talkin’ about…

  1. Kim says:

    would you gals like a third wheel to join your group?

    i need a pride adjustment…:-)

  2. Jenn says:

    But, doesn’t it feel good? Some may think it strange, but I LOVE to be sore after a workout. Unfortunately, I haven’t experienced that feeling in a long time. I need to get busy, don’t I?

  3. Sarah says:

    Kim…Yes! Definitely yes! I’m so happy you found my blog…and commented! I’ve been meaning to e-mail you to see if you want to join us.

    Jenn…Yes, it does feel good, as odd as that seems. It’s nice to feel the aches and know that the workout is actually…working! Plus working out helps me eat less because I despise negating all that work with food. 🙂 calories!

  4. MamaD says:

    Work is from 8:45am – 4:00pm and includes 305 children and a staff of 30.

    Anything after that is ‘torture time’. But if you all enjoy it, then ‘more power to you and bless you!!!!

  5. 🙂

    why haven’t i been here lately!? i think i got used to no-posts. sad sad sad. i’ve missed out!!!!!!

  6. Mom says:

    Oh dear – you have brought to mind again this spare tire around my middle I have been “inflating” all winter! And here I sit with my cup of French Vanilla Cafe! Shame! I will be joining you girls – long distance of course!
    Thanks – (I think!)
    Love

Leave a Reply

