Recipe: Chicken Pot Pie

This is a seriously good recipe for Chicken Pot Pie.  I’ve adapted and melded a couple of different recipes to create this version, which, if I do say so myself, is delicious!  And I’m not the only one saying it.  Jonah loves this recipe and has asked for it twice in the last week!  It’s not low-calorie or low-fat, but it is yummy.

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Chicken Pot Pie

Double Pie Crust:

2 sticks unsalted butter
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp salt
1 tsp sugar
3-6 tbs ice water

Mix the flour, salt and sugar.  Add in butter in small pieces until it resembles small crumbs.  Add ice water and mix until you can pinch dough between your fingers.  Refrigerate dough for one hour.

Roll out the dough and place the bottom layer in pie plate.  Wash with egg white. 

This dough was difficult for me to roll out, it was rather crumbly, so I would recommend adding extra water.  But, it turns out very flaky and buttery, which I love!

Filling:

2 large chicken breasts (boneless, skinless), boiled in chicken broth (save this chicken broth for later) and cubed.
2 cups frozen peas and carrots
1 small onion, diced
1 tsp thyme
1 tsp basil
1 tsp marjoram 
Salt and pepper to taste

1/3 cup all-purpose flour
2/3 cup Whipping Cream (“ing” the liquid, not the “ed” the frozen dessert topping)

Add chicken, carrots, peas, onion and seasonings to large skillet with the left over chicken broth from boiling the chicken (add more chicken broth if necessary to equal 1 3/4 cups) and bring to a simmer. 

In a small bowl, add flour to whipping cream and mix well (I mix with a fork).  Slowly add to the simmering chicken mixture.  Simmer over medium-low heat until thickened.  Pour into prepared pie crust.  Top with second pie crust. 

Bake at 425 for 30-35 minutes.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Recipe: Chicken Pot Pie

  1. Kim says:

    I am drooling as I read this…it is making me seriously hungry!! Sounds delish!!

  2. MamaD says:

    OK, Martha! Ingredients for a double pie crust??? Seriously? You do know they sell those, don’t you??? I think the problem is the 30 minute commute home, Phil Vassar on the stereo, I’m just not in the mood for that much ‘output!” The rest sounds great! Dad wants mushrooms, corn, green beans (and green chile) added to ours… yeah, like that chile is gonna make it in there.

    sounds wonderful, we will give it a shot this weekend!

  3. Sarah says:

    MamaD, the mushrooms, corn and green beans sound like a great addition. Enjoy. Of course, I don’t think Jonah would love it so much anymore if I added those! Sometimes I buy the pie crust, but homemade tastes sooo much better it’s worth the effort.

Leave a Reply

