Recipe: Chicken Salad

I love chicken salad sandwiches.  Love!Them!  But, when I searched online for a good chicken salad recipe including grapes and walnuts, I was severly disappointed in the results…so…I made one up.  And, it’s pretty good.  So, I thought I’d share!  🙂

Sarah’s Chicken Salad

3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cooked and cubed/shredded  (I used leftover grilled chicken shredding half and cubing half)

1 cup grapes, cut into small pieces
1 cup apple, cut into small pieces
1/4 cup chopped walnuts
1 tbs lemon juice
1 tbs balsamic vinegar
1/4 cup mayonnaise
1/2 cup Kraft mayo with olive oil
Pepper to taste

Lettuce, tomato, dill pickle and pita bread.

Combine all ingredients and mix well.  Layer lettuce, tomato and dill pickle inside pita.  Add 1/2 cup of chicken salad.  Makes 10 servings.

I used Joseph’s Flax, Oat Bran & Whole Wheat Pita Bread  because it’s low calorie but high in protein and dietary fiber.  (And no, I’m not being paid to say that.)  So, the whole chicken salad pita, which fills me up, is under 200 calories!!  Awesome. 

Enjoy!

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in health, Random, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Recipe: Chicken Salad

  1. i’m not a fan of chicken salad… but i hear you make the BEST (and only) soy-free bread around!!!!

  2. Mom says:

    This sounds so good – Dad is going to get a healthy suprise for lunch! (And it goes well with that depressing blog about exercising!) 🙂
    Love You!

  3. Cindy Morris says:

    Hi, thanks for leaving the comment,sometimes you just wonder who is out there:) O, I love chicken salad too, a lady at a bed and breakfast told me after we ate there one time and served chicken salad, she puts a small bit of peach yogurt instead of the mayo….plus all the other stuff, grapes ect. Many blessings to your family!!!!
    Cindy Morris (joel’s mommy) http://www.weloveyoujoel.blogspot.com

  4. Sarah says:

    Mandy, I’m not sure about the “best” part, but I do have fun making home-made bread! Thanks! 😉

    Mom, you’ll have to let me know how you and dad like the chicken salad!

    Cindy, So glad you stopped by! Peach yogurt sounds like a delicious substitute for the chicken salad…and healthier! I’ll definitely be trying that next time.

  5. Mama D says:

    You forgot to add in the calories that you use up (about 2500) chopping those apples and grapes! (….next time buy seedless grapes….seedless grapes, seedless grapes, seedless grapes)

    We actually found the Mayo with the green lid…it just seems wrong! But we did enjoy it alot! Told Dad, he may never get it again, so make sure he enjoys it alot this time. We obviously changed the walnuts to pecans since I can’t eat the walnuts and it was very good!

    My next venture, is finding base ingredients for sour cream potato salad. I have found a BBQ place here that serves sour cream potato salad, fairly close to school so I can stop by on my way home. They bake the potato’s use mayo & sour cream, looks like some dill weed … but man is it wonderful! It was so good, that I drove thru ABQ from the west side of town, where I had just eaten it at an open house, back to school area, and bought some to take home! That good. Too bad I couldn’t bring it to you to try, but that’s like the Dion’s sandwich, just won’t make the trip! Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

