He’s my buddy…

My son, in case you haven’t been able to tell from the tone of my writing, is a very outgoing little boy. He loves meeting new people and sharing every detail of his life with the ones that he knows. Training him to be cautious of strangers has proved a daunting task. He loves people and he loves life.

On Thursdays, my son spends the day at the YMCA for homeschool day. He and a dozen or so other kids climb rock walls, practice gymnastics and various other activities. The day ends with open gymnastics in which the kids enjoy some unstructured time. One Thursday, I was picking Jonah up and sat down on the benches to watch him for the last 15 minutes. As I watched, I noticed that he followed this one little boy around fairly constantly. Sometimes I would see them talking as they walked and sometimes Jonah would just be tagging along behind. When I asked Jonah about it later, he told me, “Oh, yeah Mom. I’m his buddy so I follow him wherever he goes.”

So we talked about it some more and discussed how it’s important to be friends with other kids as well (which he always is) and other issues of learning social skills…because Jonah has such a soft heart, I didn’t want him to be hurt if this kid didn’t respond likewise.

But as I thought abut the situation later, what struck me was the way Jonah worded himself.

“…I’m his buddy…”

Jonah decided, on his own, that he was going to be this kid’s buddy. No strings attached. No expectations of the other kid being his buddy back. Jonah’s idea of friendship is so open and honest. So selfless. So unmanipulative.

And then I thought, wow. Maybe I should stop worrying about him being hurt and just take a lesson from his example.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in faith, Homeschool, Kids, Parenting, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to He’s my buddy…

  1. Angie says:

    Oh, so sweet… “…I’m HIS buddy…” I so needed to hear the words of YOUR son today! Thank you for sharing this with me.
    Much love to you!!!!!
    Angie xoxo

  2. Mom says:

    Wow, “out of the mouth of babes”! Jonah has reminded us of an important truth: “We are HIS (buddy), and we should selflessly and joyfully want to follow HIM where ever HE goes!!!!” Thanks, Jonah!
    Love, Grandma

  3. MamaD says:

    I believe that our Jonah is gifted in so many ways.. working with kids all day long….I know….there are a special few. They sense when someone ‘needs’ a buddy, a friend, someone who will just like them the way they are. Antoniette was one, she shadowed one of our kids an was so patient and kind even when he wasn’t. That’s Jonah, God has given him that spirit, and he is so willing to use it. I’m sure he will see some hurts as he goes, but how powerful that God has given him ‘seeds’ to plant at his young age! How many people will think back years from now and remember that ‘boy who was my buddy’…. how many lives will he bless and change according to God’s Master Plan! You ROCK, Jonah!

Leave a Reply

