I am not alone…

It’s easy to feel alone when I’m homeschooling my kids.  I read about homeschoolers and meet bloggers who homeschool, but that’s not the same as sitting down “live” with another person who is walking this same path. 

And my pride makes me feel more alone at times.  Because it’s easy to let my pride keep me from reaching out to others who could encourage me and share with me when I’m wondering if I’m really cut out for this job. My pride keeps me from admitting to my general friends and acquaintainces — and sometimes my family too — that…

…I don’t “have it all together”;

…that sometimes I want to quit;

…that sometimes I wonder if my kids will appreciate being homeschooled;

…that sometimes I lose my patience, get frustrated, or just have no desire to start school in the morning. 

…that although I know that I want to (and feel called to) homeschool my kids through high school, I have no idea what that will look like.  

And when I can’t admit these things to those around me, I feel alone.  I feel like I have the weight of the world on my shoulders.  And I wonder if I can keep going. 

And then God intervenes.

Within our first month here, I attended a Seminary Wives Tea on campus.  While there, the wife of the Seminary President spoke to us women and mentioned that she homeschooled her children!  I sought her out after the tea and gained encouragement from her since she was further along in the homeschooling journey.  And, as  I was fixing myself some tea, I began talking with another seminary student who had been homeschooled!  It was wonderful to be able to talk with someone who had been on “the other side” of homeschooling, and who actually enjoyed it!

Then, after being here for a semester, I began to feel the need for a friend who would understand where I was in life.  Preferably someone around my same age with kids around the same age as my kids.  Someone that I could share with and grow with, both spiritually and as a homeschooling mom.  While I was intensely praying for such a friend, I signed up for a bible study through my church — mainly just to meet with women outside the seminary community.  I showed up at the first night of bible study and casually mentioned that I homeschool my children.  During a break, the facilitator of the study let me know that she was also homeschooling her kids.  Her twins were in 2nd grade at the time and third child (son) was the same age as Jonah!  I knew the moment she told me that she homeschooled as well that God had sent me a friend.  She has blessed me in many ways.

God continues to show me on a regular basis that I am not alone in the homeschooling process.  There are real people all around me that are homeschooling as well, or that have been homeschooled (and remember homeschool as a positive experience).  When I attended a Living Proof Live conference last summer, I ran into some other women from my church and from the seminary.  (Among a group of 4000+ women).  Among the women was a wife from this seminary who is also currently homeschooling!  Isn’t God good at throwing people into my path!?!

During our second year here at the seminary, I again attended a brunch for the women on campus.  During the brunch, we were given some time to form groups of 3-4 with the women around us and to spend some time getting to know each other.  In talking with the other two women in my group, I learned that one of the women was homeschooled for most of her education.  And she would highly recommend it! 

And then my friend …the one who facilitated the bible study…casually mentioned a homeschool day at the YMCA…which, as my faithful readers know, has been a wonderful energy outlet for Jonah and a source of homeschool encouragement for me.

And again, over the winter, a homeschooling family with a son Jonah’s age, a daughter close to Abby’s age and 2 other children moved into the building right next to us. How awesome is that!

So, even when my fears and insecurities keep me from reaching out for the resources that I know are probably right around me, God still provides.  In situations where I least expect it, he throws someone right at me who is able to encourage me, or instruct me, or simply understand me.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in faith, Homeschool, Kids, pride and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I am not alone…

  1. Jenn says:

    How awesome is that!…that God has provided you with so many sources of comfort, encouragement, and ideas, just as you were thinking you were alone. I don’t think my experience of being homeschooled 1 semester in the 7th grade would do you much good. 🙂

  2. sarah:
    this is probably my favorite post of yours so far…
    thank you for being so honest.
    you are a brave woman to homeschool those two. 🙂
    and you’re doing an amazing job.
    i admire you. hope i will be as good of a mom as you are….

  3. MamaD says:

    Oh, sweet Sarah…. you do soooo many things sooooo well, you are a wonderful “daughter’ (we don’t even bother with the in-law portion anymore!!), amazing wife, one of the most patient Mom’s I have ever met, scary smart, your reserves are never-ending. I don’t know many people who would start a batch of chocolate chip cookies at 9pm for their father in law! I have every reason to believe that you are being sent to those people as much as they are being sent to you! You encourage us all, those who know you by sight as well as those who only know you by ‘blog’. I’m not sure exactly what your Mom and I did to get to share a remarkable daughter like you! Thanks for loving my son, and for two grandchildren whom we love and adore and can’t wait to hear on the phone! They keep us laughing even 2/3 of the way across the country! We love you, and you are NEVER alone!

  4. Mom says:

    MamaD said it so beautifully! You truly are a daughter we admire and are so proud of! Keep on keepin’ on! One day your children will “rise up and call her blessed” and it will all be worth it!
    Love you, and HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

Leave a Reply

