I Should Have Been A Dentist…

This past week, Jonah lost yet another tooth. He’d be toothless, but fortunately, there’s been a bit of time since he lost the last four, so the gaps are filling in nicely with new teeth.

His first tooth popped out while he was eating breakfast. He didn’t notice for a minute and I wasn’t in the room. We never found that tooth! Fortunately, Toothie the Tooth Fairy was willing to accept our hand-written note explaining our sincere regret at having lost the tooth, and she left the monetary prize despite not having a tooth to whisk away.

A few days later, the second tooth was very wobbly, and not wanting a repeat loss — Toothie having been very stern in her response on that subject — we decided to “pull” the tooth before it popped out on its own. However, Jonah being our oldest and neither my sweetie or I having any tooth pulling experience, we were pretty nervous. I, being the one with the clearest memories of having my wiggly teeth pulled out by my dad, was quickly (despite my protests) elected the tooth-pulling parent.

*shudder*

So, we gathered up all of the necessary “tools” — lots of tissue, floss (borrowed from our friends down the hall since we, shamefully, were out), blankie and Bennie (Jonah’s stuffed friend). We then cuddled up on the couch and I attempted to wrap the floss around his tooth. Sadly, due to Jonah’s nervousness, there was too much saliva and the floss just kept slipping around in his mouth. Finally, with hands shaking, I caught the end of my fingernail in the gap under his loose tooth, and while I told him a long-winded story about the day he was born, I popped it right out!

Jonah was so surpised, it took him a minute before he could start laughing. And I am now permanently the official, story-telling, tooth-popping parent.

And this last week, I didn’t even hardly shake as I popped the tooth out! Of course, this week, Toothie was caught totally by surprise. I guess she didn’t realize how loose that tooth was getting! Fortunately, Toothie’s sweetie had one spare dollar in his wallet!

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Kids, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Should Have Been A Dentist…

  1. Mama D says:

    And a GREAT job you do…..I’ve seen you in action! Much better that you are the tooth-pulling parent…if Sweetie was, you would have Jonah with tooth in hand, tissue over his mouth, and you would be trying to find the tooth in whatever Sweetie had ‘thrown up’!!!!! I’m proud of you! Congratulations, Jonah!!!

  2. i’ve gotta be honest and tell you that i had to stop reading at the sentence saying you’d gathered all the necessary tools.

    why? i just remembered what its like. and i remembered the sound of the snap when it tears loose. oh gosh. i’m so grossed out right now…. ugh……

    my children are gonna have to pull their own teeth out.
    i just don’t think i can do it.

Leave a Reply

