Boy vs. Soy…

We have a friend who shares a weekly meal with us. His name is Brandon and he is Scott’s good friend.

We like Brandon and we enjoy sharing dinner with him. And since I cook most of our meals from scratch, the fact that Brandon is allergic to soy isn’t that big of a deal. After all, I’ve never developed the annoying habit of adding soy lecethin to everything — which the mass producers of food products seem to find so critical.

When we first invited Brandon over for dinner, Jonah asked me why I was reading the labels on everything that I was adding to the meal. We explained to him that Mr. Brandon is allergic to soy, so I was just checking to be sure there was no soy in the food.

Jonah’s response was that he was going to write to the president and ask him to outlaw soy!

*giggle* I’m quite sure our son is going to change the world. Not sure how yet, but I’m sure it will happen.

We explained to Jonah that soy isn’t bad. In fact, it’s a bean…that God made. And it’s very good for some people, like those who are allergic to cow’s milk, because they can drink soy milk. It just so happens that Mr. Brandon’s body doesn’t like it very much. But that doesn’t mean we have to outlaw it.

Oh. okay.

However, it seems that Jonah is a little concerned I might forget about Mr. Brandon’s allergy, because every time Mr. Brandon comes over…every time…Jonah starts asking me, in a slightly panicky voice, if I remembered.

Yes, Jonah. I remembered.

No, Mom. I mean…did you remember that Mr. Brandon is allergic to soy! No Soy!!

Yes, Jonah. I remembered.

Okay, Mom. I just wanted to be sure…because he’s allergic, you know.

In fact, he’d prefer we not buy anything with soy in it. Ever.

When we go grocery shopping, he’ll randomly ask me if something I’ve placed in the cart has soy in it. Because, you know, “people” are allergic to it.

I think he’d still prefer to have it banned…
Permanently…
Better safe than sorry…

As I said, someday, my son’s going to change the world.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Just Relaxing, Kids, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Boy vs. Soy…

  1. Mama D says:

    Oh, great…I put this post on Abby’s spot. Trying to do toooo many things before going to the MRI appt!! I am just not a multi-tasker!
    So to read about Jonah vs Soy, go to it’s tough being four! I should stop while I’m ahead!

  2. Mama D says:

    See, I have learned to ‘cut/copy/paste’…. so this is where it should be!

    Boy, it is a good thing that we did the Rice milk with Caleb! Maybe you should tell him that Gigi eats soy alllllllll the time!!! That will be a ‘brain teaser’ for him, won’t it. ……ok, Mom, remember Mr. Brandon can’t have soy tonight, but we need to have some for Gigi, can we do that Mom? How are you going to manage that? We will have to be sure to tell Mr. Brandon he shouldn’t eat ‘that’ because it is for Gigi and she eats soy…just not meat’… I can hear your kitchen when we get there. Feel free to have Mr. Brandon over then as well…We will make room! Abby can use her table! Great post…we are having a ball reading them.
    Love you guys and see you soon!

  3. Mom says:

    Jonah has such a big heart – sometimes it might get in the way, but isn’t that nice!

  4. he’s so headed for either politics or the pulpit

Leave a Reply

