And then he forgot all his manners…

For Memorial Day, we warmed up the grill and invited several families to join us outside for a bring-your-own-meat and a side-dish meal. We ended up with 19 people — eight of whom were under the age of eight — out in the beautiful, warm sunshine.

It was a blast.

We had two picnic tables pulled together and several lawn/beach chairs spread around the tables. Everyone enjoyed their meals whenever Scott, the official griller, stated that their meat was finished and we enjoyed lounging and chatting.

Of coure, as soon as the kids had wolfed down their dinner, they were off and moving…the girls to have a tea party in the shade of a tree, and the boys to ride their bikes and play soccer.

I blame it on the excitement of having so many friends in one place…

We had just started enjoying a bit of dessert while the kids were playing when Jonah spied the cookie that was in Mr. Drew’s hand. He dashed over to Mr. Drew and began questioning him on the shape of the cookie.

(paraphrased to the best of my memory)
Jonah: Is that a star?
Drew: Yes.
Jonah: Does it look like it has a tail?
Drew: Well, yes, I guess it does.
Jonah: That’s a shooting star!

And before I could react, he pulled that cookie right out of Mr. Drew’s hand with a triumphant look as he proclaimed, “That’s my cookie…Micah told me so!”.

Oh. Well. If Micah told you so. ?!?

Apparently, Micah, Jonah’s buddy, had helped his mom make a cookie especially for Jonah…in the shape of a shooting star. He had told Jonah about said cookie and Jonah only remembered once the cookie was in Mr. Drew’s hand. In his excitement over the cookie, he, apparently, forgot all his manners…much to my embarassment.

JONAH ALLEN!

No, Mom. Really. Micah said it was mine…

Well, if Mr. Drew doesn’t mind…

Drew’s response? With a smile on his face,

Sarah, you realize that’s a bloggable moment…

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Just Relaxing, Kids, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to And then he forgot all his manners…

  1. Mom says:

    Oh, Jonah! If he ever becomes a lawyer, I pity the judge!

  2. Mama D says:

    Mr. Jonah!!!!!! I’m gonna make sure my food ‘passes inspection’ with you BEFORE I start to eat! What a hoot. Sherlock Holmes would be proud of your strong deductive reasoning (and so would Mr. Data!!!) I wish I could see the look on Mr. Drew’s face!!

    What a guy!

Leave a Reply

