I Didn’t Realize I Was Being So Strict…

Lately, as the sun has been shining through their bedroom window later and later each evening, the kids bedtime has nudged later and later as well. Tonight, however, we were quite prompt with bedtimes.

You see, I was planning to watch a webcast on the health benefits of greener products with my friend, Jessica, at 9:00 and therefore wanted the kids to be in bed before she came over. We read stories, brushed teeth and said nightly prayers. I then told the kids that they needed to stay in bed while Miss Jessica was here…

Yeah. I’m optimistic by nature.

It didn’t surpise me that my kids, both my kids, were out of bed several times during the webcast.

Of course each instance was a dire emergency. Critical requests such as a second cup of water…

But what I wasn’t expecting was for Jonah to appear in the doorway about 45 minutes after he had been put to bed to let me know that he just couldn’t keep his eyes open any longer. He stated this in a regretful tone…as if he was sorry to disappoint me.

Okay, Jonah. Then close your eyes and go to sleep. ???

And then, Abby appeared in the doorway a few minutes later to state, regretfully, that she was too tired to stay awake any longer.

Okay, baby. Then go to sleep. ???

By this point, Jessica and I are shaking with stifled laughter. Seriously, have I ever not allowed my children to close their eyes and go to sleep??? Okay, maybe in the car when we were less than five minutes from our destination. But once they had been put to bed?!?

???

Hopefully we’ve cleared up the little misunderstanding…

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in family, Kids, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I Didn’t Realize I Was Being So Strict…

  1. Mom says:

    Oh, parenthood!! *giggle . . . giggle!* These antics always brighten my day!
    PS: I don’t think I’m giggling at the “Possibly related posts” though!
    Love

  2. Sarah says:

    Mom: *heavy sigh* I think I’m going to have to turn off the “possibly related posts”. They’re an all or nothing thing. Sometimes they’re nice, but… I’ve put in a request to wordpress to allow bloggers to delete specific ones, but so far, no deal. 😦 Thanks for pointing it out though. I probably wouldn’t have noticed because I don’t usually look at them.

  3. Sarah says:

    Update: I’ve turned off the “possibly related posts”. Better to not have them than to have inappropriate language/topics showing up. 😦

  4. Mom says:

    5-Stars to Abby for learning to write her name!!! Grandpa and Grandma are very proud!!
    And I’ve GOT to share the “Yurkey-Turkey” with Uncle Steve! That’s priceless! Do you remember when he proudly proclaimed that his new school was “Gobbler” Elementary? (Gibbons)
    Love

  5. Sarah says:

    Mom: I DO remember “Gobbler’ elementary! Or maybe I just remember hearing the story…my memories fuzzy on that. Very funny.

  6. this is quite bizarre!

  7. Sarah says:

    Mandy: I know. I think the kids just like to confuse us.

Leave a Reply

