Next, They’ll Be Knocking On My Window At 2:00 a.m.

This past weekend, it was scorching hot…and I do mean scorching.  We were up in the 90’s for 2 or 3 days.  Which, for New England…in early June…well, let’s just say my body thought we moved away from Oklahoma — and now it’s just plain confused.

So, anyway, out of sheer desperation, my sweetie and I had to find a way to make a knock-off version of our favorite Sonic drinks, to get us through the heat wave.  And we did.

Oh. My. Pickles.  Mmmm, mmm, mmmmmmmm.  That hit the spot.

And of course, having found a way to recreate these sweet summer elixers, I felt the need to share.  So, I made some cherry limeades and lemon-berry slushes for some of our friends here at the seminary.

Of course, now, it’s not just me and my sweetie who keep wanting more…it’s our friends as well. 

Tonight, while spending some time watching a movie with a couple of friends, I ended up running downstairs to grab the mixins because one of my friends had been “craving one of those drinks ever since you made it the other night”.

I joked that I was going to have to take up a sonic-drink-knock-off fund and people could just knock on our window and place their order.

Then Jessica said I could put my sweetie through school selling them.

Hmmm…..

I’m not ready to share the recipe yet, cuz I wanna stay popular for awhile, but I will say that the recipe is a mix of two recipes that I found here and here.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Just Relaxing, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Next, They’ll Be Knocking On My Window At 2:00 a.m.

  1. Steph says:

    They are awesome! I have never had a Sonic, but man, your Sonic drinks are great. I just hope that if ever I make it to a real sonic that I am not disappointed after having your “knock-offs”! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Sarah says:

    Steph: Oh, Sonic is definitely better. Of course, I’m sure alot of my love for Sonic is wrapped up in memories, but still. I hope you experience Sonic in the not-too-distant future, and I’m sure you will love the “real thing”! Until then, though, I’m really enjoying making our own version.

  3. Sarah says:

    Steph: And thanks!!! I appreciate the compliment!! And your welcome!!! Feel free to ask for cherry limeades anytime…

  4. Mama D says:

    Will there be ‘Saraonics’ at the airport? But you’ve never had their Java Chillers….mmmmmmmmm….I miss not being in school, because that was my ‘every Friday, the kids are gone for 2 days, made it thru another week’ treat. There is a Sonic about 1/2 mile from the school! I’ll have to have a cherry limeade before we take off, so we can do a good comparison!!!

  5. Sarah says:

    They have Java Chillers?!? *whimper*

  6. Mama D says:

    …..mmmmmmmmm…. yes they do. Yummy! Espresso and softserve topped with your choice, Hazelnut, Caramel, Mocha or one other flavor!!! Topped with whipped cream! I guess I will have to have one every day next week to make up for the month that we will be on the road! Well, I guess I should look and see how close they are, I may not be that far away! They are truly a taste sensation! See, come back to the mountains and try one!

  7. Jenn says:

    I was talking to my mom on the phone yesterday while her and my dad were ordering at Sonic….Java Chillers! It was cruel and unusual punishment. And lets not forget about there food at well….YUM. Sonic is where I experience my first cherry, vanilla, Dr.Pepper. What memories! 🙂

  8. MamaZ says:

    I remember Cherry Limeades from Sonic in Albuquerque – it was my friend, Ann’s favorite drink. Hmmm, she was from Norman, OK! Is there any correlation???
    I remember a certain young man who was a “coffee head” way before it became “popular” who would come over to play dominoes! He got us “hooked” on fancy coffee. I think we even bought an espresso machine (or did you give us your old one??) so we could all enjoy them together! We love you, Scott! We don’t make coffee here at the house anymore – goodness, we have Starbuck’s in just about every grocery store. Personally, I’m enjoying Dutch Brothers much better (but it’s still a treat and not an everyday thing for us.)
    Anyway, Happy Father’s Day, Scott! You’re a wonderful Dad. We are proud of all you have accomplished since we saw you last. We know you are relying and trusting in the Lord to guide your steps and together with Sarah raising godly children. May your path be straight.
    Hugs and love to you, Sarah and the kids ~
    The Zs

  9. Sarah says:

    Jenn: Cruel and unusual indeed!

    MamaZ: Thank you for the sweet comment. Scott has talked about the times that he would play dominoes at your house and he speaks very highly of you and your family. I hope someday we are able to meet in person. 🙂

  10. hugs4mom says:

    Bring on the walk by window! You are totally in a place where that could absolutely work….endless possibilities! Tasty drinks!

  11. yeah. i’m thinking y’all could set up a lemonade stand or something.
    🙂

  12. Sarah says:

    Hugs & Mandy: I may just do that. After all, Jonah has so much natural sales talent that all I’d have to do is put him in charge and we’d be rich!!

Leave a Reply

