An epiphany…of sorts

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately. Thinking about life. Thinking about priorities. Thinking about my relationship with God and with everyone around me. Lots of thinking. Which is good’ish.

I’ve also been busy. Crazy busy. Trying to get everything done. By myself. A self-imposed punishment, if you will, for not being the mother, the wife, the friend, the child of God, that I know I am supposed to be. I’m taking on too many responsibilities, and thus, I’m lacking in everything I do. And to make up for the lack, I continue to take on more responsibility, trying to do penance in my heart. Trying to prove myself adequate.

But it’s all worthless. All futile. And I’ve been missing the big picture. I have been trying to prove that I can be disciplined and fit everything in. But I’ve made the mistake of making it all about me. It isn’t all about me.

I’ve had a warped view of God. Miniscule. Distorted. I still do. But it’s like a small light is beginning to shine. Like an idea that you almost have. I know it’s there, but I haven’t quite grasped it. I just have to focus on it, and wait. Slowly, it will come into view.

Over the past week, my job has been rather consuming. I’ve put in more hours than usual and they have been consuming hours. Hours where I can’t focus on anything else. And the kids have been bored. Can’t blame them. When Mama zones into work, life can be pretty boring. And so they’ve pestered. They asked for tv, xbox, gameboy, anything to distract. Anything to entertain. And then I become ugly mommy. Because I don’t like being pestered. And they just don’t understand how much I need to get done. Me. By myself.

God’s been bringing the concept of idols into my mind constantly lately. Hmmmm. The bible study I’m doing right now, all about idols. Yesterday’s sermon, about the consequences of letting idols slip into your life. Self-sufficiency is an idol for me. The need to do everything myself. My inability to depend on anyone else is in itself a dependency upon a false idol. And it destroys me.

I sometimes cry out to God asking him why I can’t hear him speaking to me. Then I stop to breath and I start to hear everything that he’s been saying that I’ve just been talking over. This has been one of those weeks.

This morning, I started cleaning the kitchen. It was in desperate need. Seriously desperate. Martha Stewart would have been very disappointed in the state of my house 2 hours ago. And as I started to work, I started assigning the kids tasks as well. And, for the most part, they accepted the tasks with vigor, going above and beyond what I had asked them to do. And the house was cleaned more quickly than I could have done on my own. And that was my epiphany.

Not that I can use my kids as forced labor, helping to accomplish more in one day. No. The fact that by involving them. By not doing everything myself and grumping at them for being in the way and pestering me about their boredom. By giving them something productive to do, they felt important. They wanted to prove to me that they could do what I had asked…and more. They wanted to be like me.

But I don’t want them to be like me. I’m not a very good example. But I want to be. I too want to prove myself. I want to prove to God that I can go above and beyond the small tasks that he gives me. That I can be worthy of bigger tasks.

But I’m beginning to realize that I can’t be ready for God’s tasks until I let go of some of mine. I have to give up. I have to give up control, self-sufficiency, independence, security. I have to give up my life. Because who I am cannot co-exist with who God wants me to be.

I cannot be the mother that God wants to me to be — training up my children in the way they should go — if I am consumed with doing everything myself.

I cannot be the wife that God wants me to be — humble, supportive, honoring — if I am overwhelmed and absorbed in my own world of self-imposed busyness.

I’m still struggling. Too much of myself is still fighting for control. It scares me to let go.

But I’m aware. I’m listening. And God is speaking.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Christianity, faith, family, housekeeping, Marriage, Parenting, pride. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to An epiphany…of sorts

  1. Sweetie says:

    I cannot tell you how proud of you I am, you are an inspiration to me!! And as much as you have helped me through my struggles with school and self worth, I will be here to do the same for you!! I love you very much!

  2. rachelpage says:

    “Because who I am cannot co-exist with who God wants me to be.”

    Wow – this is an amazing post, Sarah. You articulate so well that struggle when you know something big is coming but it hasn’t completely happened yet. Thanks for sharing this and challenging me with these truths. Hard to hear but good to hear.

  3. Mom says:

    Hmmmm – Excellent. . . honest . . . convicting . . .
    Prayers, a big loving hug, and encouragement to “keep on keeping on!

  4. Sarah says:

    Sweetie: *smooch!*

    Rachel and Mom: Thank you so much for the encouragement. I really appreciate your thoughts.

  5. Mama D says:

    You are one of the most inspiring people I’ve ever met. Your honesty is remarkable, touching, compelling while you hold a mirror for me to look at myself as well. I have said before and will continue to say that YOU are exactly what God has planned. You hold the light for all of us to use to see ourselves as well. Even when we don’t really want to look.

    Scott, Jonah and Abby, your family and your in-laws are truly ‘blessed and highly favored’ that God chose to share you with all of us! We’re prayin’!!!!

  6. dang

    keep writing like this.
    please.

  7. Sarah says:

    Mama D: Thank you! I am blessed to have married my best friend and to have married into a wonderful and sweet family.

    Mandy: 🙂 I’ll do my best.

  8. Pingback: Striving to be Open « My Peace and Joy

Leave a Reply

