Eight Lavender Roses

A couple months ago, my Sweetie and I celebrated our 8th Anniversary. And I knew what was coming…because every year he gives me the same thing.

Every year on our Anniversary, my Sweetie presents me with an arrangement of lavender roses — one for every year that we have been married. This year, when he came home with the arrangement, it was huge. Partially because the florist had messed up the original order — which my sweetie placed two weeks in advance — and she felt terrible when he explained the reason for the order and the importance of having lavender roses and not “lavender-esque flowers”, and partially because eight years is a significant amount of time.

That’s one of the things that I love about the rose gift. It’s a physical symbol of the growth of our marriage. The first few years, the arrangements were very small. Because, let’s face it, there’s only so much you can add to an arrangment of one rose, without overshadowing the rose. And the vases were small because that’s all that was necessary. And I loved them. The simplicity. The beauty. The reminder.

But now, eight long-stemmed, lavender sterling roses take up some room. And they require a large vase. And it reminds me…eight years of marriage. That’s a big thing.

I can’t wait for our 50th anniversary! My sweetie and I talked this year about the fact that he should probably start saving now for that arrangement!

And there are other things that I love about receiving roses every year. For one, it’s predictable, which is terribly romantic. Lavender roses are not always easy to find…at least not true lavender roses. It takes thought. It takes preparation. It takes dedication. It takes remembrance. All very romantic qualities. And I can anticipate what’s coming. I get to wonder what the vase will look like, what the arrangement will be, and when my Sweetie will give them to me.

Plus, I love that the roses build anticipation for the anniversary years that would otherwise slip by less noticed. Half a dozen roses…that was fun. And our 12th anniversary, that will be a milestone to remember! The year of two dozen roses will probably stand out in my mind as much as our 25th anniversary the next year. It’s just fun.

The gift of roses represents who my husband is and some of the many qualities that I love him for. He’s romantic. He’s dependable. He’s thoughtful. He’s prepared. And he doesn’t settle for lavender-esque!

As deeply as I know him and love him, he still surprises me every year. He always lives up to the anticipation.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Marriage. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Eight Lavender Roses

  1. Mama D says:

    The ‘fella does have a knack for that, doesn’t he??? I know he does it for you, because you are so special to him. He always, only wanted, someone who would love ‘him’ as ‘him’….and you do, yet you bring out in him so many other qualities that we have all come to admire in him. The dedication to faith, family and school.

    Thanks for everything!
    Love,
    Mama D

  2. those ARE big roses. πŸ™‚

  3. Sarah says:

    Mama D: Yes, he does have a knack for that. πŸ™‚ I do love the romance!

    Mandy: πŸ™‚

  4. Mom says:

    Your Sweetie is such a special guy! It took 20 years for me to get my first bouquet of roses for an anniversary, but 2 weeks ago, I was busily getting ready for company and there was a knock on the door. A smiling lady stood there with this HUGE bouquet of colorful roses! I looked admiringly at them and said “I think you have the wrong house.” She just said “One for each year!” Yes, our 36th anniversary was the next day and my sweetie had ordered from our small town florist. It made her day, and mine!! We Thank you, Lord, for loving husbands!
    And Congratulations, you two, for 8 wonderful years!!!

Leave a Reply

