Where’s my head?

“The ox knows his master, the donkey his owner’s manger, but Israel does not know, my people do not understand.” Isaiah 1:3 (NIV)

When I was in junior high and high school, I owned a horse. Her name was Pixie and she was dingy white (she liked to roll in the dirt) with grey speckles. She was a sweet old horse. Emphasis being on the “old”. She didn’t get spooked by birds that would fly up around her feet when we were plodding through a field. She didn’t balk at streams that I asked her to walk through. She’d been doing life for years before I ever rode her and things just didn’t take her by surprise.

So we’d go for long meandering rides. Not very fast, but enjoyable. She’d let me lead with the reigns as we explored country roads and neighbors’ fields. But, the moment I turned her head toward home, she knew where we were headed. No matter how many meandering turns we had taken, in her mind, home was always the destination. I never had to worry about being lost when I was riding Pixie.

I want to be like that. I want to be so immersed in God’s Word and in my relationship with Him that no matter where life takes me — no matter how many twists and turns — I always know where I am and that ultimately, I’m just on a long journey towards home.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Christianity, faith, Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where’s my head?

  1. Mom says:

    I love it – what a great illustration! No matter where we are in life, we are always “going home” in our heart!
    Love you!

  2. me too… i want that too.

Leave a Reply

