Connections…

The other evening, I was laying down in Jonah’s bed talking with him before he fell asleep. It’s one of our weekly things. “Cuddle time”. He never lets me forget, although sometimes I do have to take rainchecks! So, I was laying there with my arm around him letting him talk about whatever he wanted. It’s one of the few times that he truly gets to lead the conversation. And of course, randomness became the theme.

So, we were talking and Jonah asked me if he was a bottomless pit when he was a baby. (Obviously, we’ve been joking with him about being a bottomless pit because the boy is so active that we can never seem to feed him enough food!) My initial thought was to say no. Obviously. How could a baby be a bottomless pit? But before I answered, I thought for a minute and realized that yes, in all truth, he was a bottomless pit as a baby. Which is why my milk production was sky high when Abby (my delicate eater) was born and I ended up miserable for the first few weeks…which is a whole nother store.

From the day he was born, he would latch on and nurse with a fervor until I was bone dry. And then he would nurse some more until, often, my body would just give up and ‘let down’ a whole second serving for him. Let me just say, by the time his first birthday was rolling around, I was more than happy to close up shop and switch him over to cow’s milk.

And so I told him all of this. And he laughed. He enjoyed seeing the connection between his behavior now and his behavior as a baby.

And I enjoyed being able to make the connection for him…seven years later.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in family, Just Relaxing, Kids, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Connections…

  1. wow.
    what an interesting post…

  2. Mama D says:

    Yeah, if these people could have seen you in my kitchen cooking carrots, squash, green beans, and I don’t even remember everything that was in the freezer, then adding yogurt or applesauce to make it go further!!!! Then the sippie cup of milk or juice, cheerios, crackers. I remember being amazed by how much that little fella could put away!!! But then, when I tried to pick him up, I KNEW where it went!!!!!

    Thanks for reminding me!!!
    Mama D

  3. Sarah says:

    Mandy: what a diplomatic comment! šŸ™‚

    Mama D: Yep, nothing’s changed except his age! I fear for the teenage years. Maybe someday he’ll be swimming in the olympics! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

