No. 1: Not the man of my dreams…

1. Not the man of my dreams…

I’m married to my best friend. He’s my sweetie. And I love him. LOVE him. !! But, he’s not what I wanted.

In high school and college, the few times I thought about getting married I dreamed of a tall, dark-haired business man. I imagined us leaving for work every morning — him dressed in suit and tie, briefcase in hand — off to conquer the world together.

My sweetie, Scott. Yeah. He doesn’t fit that picture. First off, the hair’s red, thank you very much. Second, he only wears ties when absolutely necessary and prefers a backpack to a briefcase. And conquering the world, only if we’re talking video games.

See, I was dreaming of financial wealth and personal glory, not realizing that my heart wasn’t made to love those things. Scott’s not at all what I dreamed of, but he’s everything that my heart loves. And although our marriage may not ever bring us personal glory, despite our mistakes and struggles, it does give glory to God.

I’m glad my dreams are not my reality. What about you?

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in 100 Things About Me, Marriage and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No. 1: Not the man of my dreams…

  1. Sweetie says:

    Awwww, what can I say to something like that! I promise to try and wear more ties for you, I’ve that whole collection of Looney Toon ties waiting to be used!!
    I love you bunches!!!

  2. Sarah says:

    🙂 Looney tunes are fun. You’re the best man I could have married!

Leave a Reply

