No. 8: Only Eight…

No. 8: Only Eight…

There are only 8 states I cannot remember visiting at some point in my life: New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, D.C., South Carolina, Alaska, West Virginia and Virginia.

When I was young, our vacations involved driving long distances. Mom, Dad and all four of us kids would pack into our Pacer with the white storage unit on top and the red wooden trailer hitched behind and we would head around the country. We always visted family along the way but also tried to visit landmarks and interesting places. We’ve been to Yellowstone National Park, the Grand Tetons and the Grand Canyon. We also stopped for pictures of Texas Longhorns. I also remember dipping our toes in one of the great lakes after dark as we were driving by.

I love traveling. I love traveling by car. Sometimes, when I’m feeling overwhelmed or stressed, I feel a strong urge to load up the kids in the car and head out. Somewhere. Anywhere.

I credit that to my folks.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in 100 Things About Me, family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to No. 8: Only Eight…

  1. Sweetie says:

    Dear, technically D.C. is not a state, it is a territory. Just so you know. I love you!!

  2. Steph says:

    So, when did you go to Hawaii? How was it? I would love to go there before I die.

  3. Sarah says:

    Sweetie: Thanks…

    Steph: See, now I feel silly. Okay, so it’s actually 10 that I haven’t visited because I forgot about the “unattached” states. I haven’t been to Alaska (although my mom was born there and my brother has been there) and I haven’t been to Hawaii (although I would love to!)

  4. Mama D says:

    Does just driving thru count? Not actually stop and visit??? Or like touchdown in an airplane, sit on the tarmac, count…that gives me a couple more!!!

    Don’t believe I’ve done Oregon, don’t remember MN, no on NC, NJ, AK, HI,

    If you’re counting ‘territories’, you will need to include, PR & USVI. Tell Sweetie to be careful!
    Not sure about WV! Remember, though, you are counting over 50 years of traveling.

    Aren’t you supposed to be at work Sweetie????

  5. Sarah says:

    Mama D: Yes, driving through and touching on the tarmac definitely count!

  6. Mom says:

    OK, girl – you have to get to Virginia! You have roots there from 1670! And “D.C.”, New Jersey, Deleware and Maryland would be just a “day trip” for us western folks, so get going!
    Love, and happy traveling!
    PS: When you leave for AK and HI pack me in your suitcase!

  7. Sarah says:

    Mom: I love the idea of a day trip to the remaining east coast states. Maybe Scott and I can work that out sometime this year.

    I don’t think airport security would care for me packing you in my suitcase! 🙂

Leave a Reply

