Dots Creep Me Out…

Very few people know this about me, but it’s true. I can’t stand dots.

But not all dots. Some dots are okay. But I can’t tell you which ones. I just know when I look at them. It’s a feeling. Some dots I like. Some, I really, really don’t.

For instance, fabric patterns with very small polka dot patterns give me the heeby-jeebies. My daughter doesn’t own any clothes with this pattern. On the other hand, I have a great teapot that a friend gave me that has large pastel colored polka dots all over it. Love it.

But in the shower, when droplets of water begin collecting on the shower wall…creepy. I usually don’t look at them, but when I do, it takes great determination to not continually wipe the shower wall clean.

And then there’s the vertical row of florescent green lights on our computer modem…I can’t even describe how much I can’t stand those little green lights. I managed to sit at the computer with those modem lights for about two days before the modem had to move…to the very back corner of the desk where the computer monitor hides it while I’m sitting at the computer. And since the computer is in our bedroom, it’s very fortunate that I sleep on the side of the bed away from the computer. That way, my sweetie’s head blocks all view of the lights as well as the glow from the lights. And I can sleep. But if he is gone late in the evenings and I am trying to sleep, I have to roll over and face the other wall. I’ve tried just closing my eyes, but then I feel the glow from the lights and I just can’t handle it. It’s like fingernails on a chalkboard. Seriously.

I know. I’m strange. And this whole thing is irrational. But honestly, I don’t think about it very much. Which means I’m okay. As long as I don’t have to stare at any creepy dots. Right?

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in 100 Things About Me, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Dots Creep Me Out…

  1. Otto Mann says:

    what about the candy dots?

  2. Steph says:

    Let me just say first that I am relieved that you do enjoy some dots, especially on teapots.

    Question: Does that mean you get the heeby-jeebies when you hear the song about the yellow-polka-dot-bikini?
    🙂

  3. Sarah says:

    Otto: Sadly, candy dots and those ice cream dots also creep me out. I have eaten them on occasion, but I can’t look at them for very long.

    Steph: I thought you’d be happy to know that. 🙂 And no, the song does not bother me. But, it’s a very good thing that the yogurt commercial never really shows the yellow-polka dot bikini or I’d probably have to immediately change the channel.

  4. Mom says:

    Now let’s see – – – what could have happened in your childhood?????
    Love –

  5. uh. right….

    Ok. Seriously – water droplets in the shower?
    I might have to break up with you.
    😉

  6. Anonymous says:

    I seem to remember a pair of fuzzy pajamas with lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots of dots on them…..hmmmmmm I guess as long as you’re not looking at them they’re ok?

  7. Sarah says:

    Ha, ha. Yeah, I never think about those pajamas having dots. I guess those dots are some of the few that don’t creep me out. Maybe because they’re fuzzy.

Leave a Reply

