A First For Me…

My sweetie and I went on a date tonight. And for fun we decided to try a new restaurant we have driven by a few times…Blue Fin, Japanese cuisine. It was excellent, by the way.

The place was crowded when we got there and we had our choice of being seated at the bar or at the sushi bar. We opted for the sushi bar.

Side note: Those sushi chefs are amazing. That’s a seriously cool skill.

Anyway, deciding to be adventurous, we ordered some sushi. Not much, just a few safe pieces. And they were very good. But we noticed that the sushi chef had added a little bonus to our sushi bowl…the fried heads of the shrimp. Needless to say, those heads were still in the bowl when our waitress came around to collect our dishes. Of course, she smiled sweetly and asked if we were sure we didn’t want the heads.

Seriously, we didn’t want them. But, two things were working against me. One, my sweet accommodating self didn’t want to offend the waitress or the chef. Two, I was on a date with my sweetie and wanted to prove that I could still be adventurous and fun and all that. So, after being assured by the waitress that the proper etiquette was to eat the entire head (eyes and all) and that I just needed to be careful of the antennas (since they tend to stick in the throat! Her words, not mine!), I agreed to give it a try.

I started with a small bite and it actually wasn’t bad, except for the fact that I couldn’t get past what I was eating. But the challenge was on now and I wanted to prove that I could eat the whole thing. So I did. And honestly, it was quite tasty. Except that the whole mouthful almost came right back out when I was pretty sure I could feel the eyeball on my tongue.

Good times. Good times.

Now that the night is over, I’m glad I ate that shrimp head. And that I managed to not choke at all on the antennae. I’m pretty sure I’m stronger for having tried it. Pretty sure.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in 100 Things About Me, Marriage, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A First For Me…

  1. You ate it?!?! There’s something wrong with you…

  2. Sarah says:

    Yes, but that’s no secret… šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

