Siblings

I try to wake up before my children in the mornings so that I can have a little bit of quiet, alone time to spend praying and reading my bible and/or some other book. Sometimes I wake up early enough, sometimes I don’t. I want so badly to be a morning person, but my body just doesn’t cooperate. My kids aren’t exceptionally early risers either, especially Abby, and being a homeschooling family, I have never had to put them on a strict schedule in the mornings and so I have always pretty much let them sleep until they wake up. So, sometimes they wake up early, and sometimes they wake up late.

On the days that I successfully wake up before them, however, it’s like they sense my wakefullness and groggily stumble their way toward the light in the living room where they always want to curl up in my lap, regardless of how big the pile of books, pencils and writing paper already there.

And so I hug them and cuddle them for a minute and then gently try to encourage them to curl up on the couch while I finish my not-so-quiet time.

And they go without fuss. They’re used to this routine. And as they snuggle into the softness of the couch, they naturally gravitate towards each other. Pretty soon, they’re curled up and somehow touching, whether Abby’s curled up against Jonah’s back or their toes are touching as they lay on opposite ends of the couch, or the crowns of their heads are together. Somehow, they like to be connected. And I love that.

I hope that throughout their lives they maintain a close connection. My sweetie and I are doing what we can to foster that…enforcing respect and loving attitudes, quickly nipping negative behavior before it’s allowed to become a habit. Teaching them to play fair. And fight fair. And we’re praying. I’m praying with all my heart that they continue to love each other and remain connected.

And I’m enjoying the sweetness of their togetherness.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in faith, family, Kids, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Siblings

  1. This precious.
    And good to know that they aren’t bouncing off the walls from the moment they roll outta bed! yikes!
    đŸ™‚

  2. Grandma says:

    Very Sweet!
    Keep up the good work Dad & Mom!
    Love ~

Leave a Reply

