Marriage

I’m married to a really great man. And we have a good marriage. A really good marriage.

Sadly, I think really good marriages are becoming more uncommon. Actually, I think good marriages are common…but people don’t realize when they are already in a good marriage.

Our marriage is very good…but it is not easy. It is very good because it’s not easy.

In the last nine years, we have faced a lot of obstacles. We’re facing some pretty big ones right now. And we have disagreed on how to handle those obstacles – sometimes quite emotionally. And there have been plenty of times where one or both of us wanted to just throw up our hands and say FINE! Whatever YOU want. I don’t care! Just stop talking about it! We wanted to give in and give up, just to end the conflict.

But we didn’t. We don’t. We have always kept talking. Not without sometimes invoking the 10:00 rule (no more difficult discussions after 10:00 p.m., when we’re too tired to be reasonable) or the 24+ hour rule (I really can’t talk about this for awhile until I’ve had a chance to process my thoughts and feelings), but we always keep talking. And because of that, we have a great marriage.

We have sex (sorry parents, but yes, I’m going there…) and because of that, we have a great marriage. And I’m not talking about frequency or quality, because those can vary depending on so many factors. But even when we are stressed, or completely overwhelmed by life, or just generally not in the mood for sex, we don’t forget the need and desire for an intimate relationship. And sometimes that means one of us calling a “moral imperative”: acknowledging that neither of us has a strong desire at that moment to be intimate, but that for the health of our marriage, we are going to choose intimacy anyway. And that makes us stronger together.

And we pray. Which is the biggest reason why I believe our marriage is great. I’m not talking just about praying together, which we do, although not consistently. The prayers that more often shape our marriage are our individual prayers. When an issue seems impossible to overcome, I know that Scott is praying about it. And he knows that I am too. And eventually, God shapes us and changes our hearts so that we continue to grow together. And in growing together, we maintain our great marriage.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in faith, Marriage. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Marriage

  1. PAPA says:

    Excellent, alot to think about.

    • Sarah says:

      Thanks. I find that it’s easy for me to start dwelling on the little negatives in life…but then the little negatives tend to take over my entire perception of life and my marriage. So, I try to consciously remind myself of the big picture. 🙂

  2. YOU
    ROCK

    Write more, please.
    And have more sex. 😉

    One day, Jonah and Abby might read this. And giggle. Then smile that their parents have such a great marriage. Thank you for sharing your family with me…

    • Sarah says:

      Knowing that Jonah and Abby will probably read my blog posts one day helps keep me focused in what I want to say. So, Although they’ll probably roll their eyes, I do want them to read this…one day.

  3. Mom says:

    What a blessing you both are – clinging to Him, and to each other no matter what life brings!
    Keep on keeping on – – –
    Love

Leave a Reply

